Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

SportShorts for Friday, September 14, 2018


Stering’s Shore
commits to Ferris St.

Sterling senior Aidan Shore announced Wednesday on Twitter that he will continue his academic and athletic career at Ferris State University.

Shore, a 6-foot-10 center for the Golden Warriors, averaged 6.2 points, 6.3 rebounds, and 2.4 blocks per game last year – one where his team went 23-10 and won a regional and a Northern Illinois Big 12 West title.

Ferris State, located in Big Rapids, Mich., is the defending Division II champion. The Bulldogs, members of the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, finished 38-1 last season.


Three local wrap up play at Sr. Amateur

Salley Wessels of Mount Morris fired an 84 on Thursday and finished at 250, good for a tie for 15th place, at the Illinois State Senior Women’s Amateur golf tournament at Metamora Fields Country Club.

Two Dixon golfers also competed in the tournament. Kristie Pultorak and Mimi Boysen each shot rounds of 89 on Thursday. Pultorak tired for 36th with a three-round total of 262, while Boysen finished five shots back in a tie for 43rd.

Lincoln’s Jan Bowers shot a 1-over-par 70 on Thursday to clinch the individual title.


HOF class of 2019 nominees announced

Nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2019 were announced Thursday.

Players in their first year
of eligibility include tight
end Tony Gonzalez, safety Ed Reed, cornerback Champ Bailey and linebacker London Fletcher.

Finalists from 2018 who are nominated again include running back Edgerrin James, wide receiver Isaac Bruce, offensive linemen Kevin Mawae, Steve Hutchinson, Alan Faneca and Tony Boselli, safety John Lynch and cornerback Ty Law.


Stars ink Seguin
to extension

The Dallas Stars on Thursday signed star center Tyler Seguin to an 8-year extension with an average annual value of $9.85 million .

The team announced the move via a Super Mario Bros.themed video posted on Twitter, featuring an animated Seguin shooting pucks at logos of other teams.

Loading more