Digital Access

Digital Access
Access saukvalley.com from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from SaukValley.com, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

Trial Coverage: Nick Sheley

Trial began Monday, May 19, in Rock Island County for twice-convicted murderer Nicholas Sheley.

A 12-person jury deliberated for almost 4 hours on Thursday, May 29, before reaching a guilty verdict against the Sterling man. Judge Jeffrey O'Connor set Sheley's sentencing for Aug. 11.

Sheley, 34, was found guilty of first-degree murder for the June 28, 2008 deaths of Brock Branson, 29; his fiancée, Kilynna Blake, 20; her 2-year-old son, Dayan; and Kenneth Ulve, 25.

Updates from court (archived):

Published stories:

Friday, May 30: Sheley guilty of four deaths in Rock FallsTrial testimony: Anything to 'keep the peace'

Thursday, May 29: Trial slowed by defense objections; state hopes to rest today

Tuesday, May 27: State expects to rest case Wednesday in Sheley trial

Saturday, May 24: A day of 'complicated cocktail' of forensic evidence

Friday, May 23: Juror dismissed on Day 4 of Sheley trial

Thursday, May 22: Sheley trial testimony: 'A hammer fits the bill'

Wednesday, May 21: Laying out victims’ final day

Tuesday, May 20: Sheley trial testimony: 'They’re gone. They're all dead.’

Saturday, May 17: Jury selection to continue into Monday

Friday, May 16: 12 jurors selected for Sheley trial; 4 alternates needed

Thursday, May 15: Eight jurors approved; eight more to go

Wednesday, May 14: Slow going in Sheley jury selection

Tuesday, May 13: Day one of Sheley jury selection wraps up

Monday, May 12: Sheley jury selection begins today

comp:000053709cd4:00000001c5:6ed7 /sheleytrial/sheley-cover.jpg