February 28, 2017 Fair, 49°F

Tourtillott elected Dixon School Board president

Created: Friday, May 3, 2013 1:15 a.m. CST
Updated: Wednesday, September 11, 2013 1:20 p.m. CST

DIXON – Pam Tourtillott was elected Thursday to replace Tom Balser as school board president.

After newly elected Terry Shroyer and Josh Arduini were seated, Tourtillott was nominated for president by board member Tom Lemoine and voted in unanimously.

Balser did not run for re-election after 12 years on the board and Woody Lenox was not re-elected.

Board members honored Lenox last month and Balser on Thursday.

In the former president’s parting comments, Balser called his service one of the greatest honors of his life.

“We always tackled the issue and this board was never a rubber stamp,” Balser said. “We voted with our conscience and moved on with no hard feelings.”

Board member Jim Schielein added that Balser was seen “everywhere” when it came to school events.

Lenox called his time on the board a learning experience “both personally and professionally.”

Tourtillott said she was interested in being president and wants to make the transition as smooth as she can.

Superintendent Michael Juenger said new board members are required to take 4 hours of training and complete an online tutorial on the Open Meetings Act.

Along with Tourtillott, Lemoine was elected vice president and Kevin Sward as secretary.

Also, the board voted to keep regularly scheduled meetings on the third Wednesday of the month at 6:30 p.m.

« Back to home page