March 25, 2017 Cloudy, 50°F

Dixon School Board to elect new officers

Created: Thursday, May 2, 2013 1:15 a.m. CDT
Updated: Wednesday, September 11, 2013 1:20 p.m. CDT

DIXON – A new Dixon School Board president will be seated tonight, and two new members will be sworn in.

Board President Tom Balser did not run for re-election after 12 years on the board. All officers will be elected by the board.

With four seats open in the in April 9 election, newcomers Terry Shroyer and Josh Arduini were elected along with incumbents John Jacobs and Pam Tourtillott. Each has a 4-year term.

They join Tom Lemoine, Jim Schielein and Kevin Sward, whose terms expire in 2015.

Jacobs, who was appointed to the board 4 months ago, received the most votes.

Woody Lenox was not re-elected and will vacate his seat. Board members honored him last month and praised his 5 years of board work.

Lenox was a member of the school board’s negotiating team during the strike and spoke out against using prospective sales tax money for a sports and activities complex.

Also, the board will vote on the schedule for regular board meetings.

To attend

The Dixon School Board meets at 6:30 p.m. today at the administration office, 1335 Franklin Grove Road.

Go to dixonschools.org or call the district administration office, 815-284-7722, for an agenda.

« Back to home page