Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

Local students tops in their class

Illinois State Scholars named by student assistance commission

DEERFIELD – The Illinois Student Assistance Commission, which provides information and financial assistance to college-bound students, Tuesday released its list of the 2020-21 State Scholars.

Honored students are in the top 10% of high school seniors across the state, based on a combination of their ACT or SAT test scores and sixth semester class rank.

In the Sauk Valley, 85 students from 16 public and private schools made the list, down from 101 last year.

In all, more than 17,500 students from 726 schools achieved recognition this year.

Honorees are announced based on the year they will begin their post-secondary education, not on the year they graduate from high school.

The honor comes with a congratulatory letter from ISAC, a certificate of achievement, and a downloadable digital Illinois State Scholar badge that can be displayed on students’ online profiles and social media platforms to share with prospective colleges and employers.

Schools that submitted information to the ISAC the earliest received the status of their students earlier than other schools, Baker said.

Local honorees are:

Amboy: Ashley Althaus, Sidney Corcoran, Tyler Stewart, Nastasja Vaessen

Ashton-Franklin Center: Tyler Crowell, Natalie Sondgeroth, Emalie Voegler

Bureau Valley: Trent Devenney, Margaret Karraker, Caroline Konneck, Katherine Monier

Dixon: Emma Carlson, Jasmine Connolly, Cameron Crone, Sophie Doane, Nicholas Engle, Noah Grot, Eaden Hvarre, Aidan Johnson, Emma Johnson, Riley Kavanaugh, Kortney Marsh, Christian Seagren, Ethan Sherman, Grace Wadsworth

Eastland: Lydia Coatney, Elijah Dertz, Erin Henze, Meredith Janssen, Ira Markley, Naomi Mullen, Emma Norton, Daniel Sauer

Erie: Zailey Greeno, Blake Misfeldt, Abigail Stichter, Carson Wiebenga

Faith Christian: Leslie Bandera

Fulton: Mariam Elahmady, Sara Norman

Milledgeville: Katie Gabbard, Samantha Hartman

Morrison: Griffin Vos

Newman Central Catholic: Nathaniel Ahlers, Dean Ellorando, Joselyn Reed, Kyle Tunink

Oregon: Tanner Clayton, Josey Fox, Lauren Montavon, Cynthia Nyderek, Elizabeth Villarreal

Polo: Gabriel Boothe, Audrey Hess, Jakob Kindle, Tucker Mumford, Scott Prerost, Patrick Wright, Nicole Zeigler

Prophetstown: Hailey Barron, Christopher Link

Rock Falls: Madison Arickx, Emalie Chavira, Emma Lutz, Lauren Moeller, Brock Tschosik, Utah Velazquez, Anna Wei, Robert Williams

Sterling: Abigail Aitken, Madilyn Barnhart, Andrea Cervantes, Paige DeJonge, Tessa DeJonge, Diana Dillon, Whitnie Garriott, Audrey Gesiakowski, Tyler Hansen, Luke Heffelfinger, Dillon Nitz, Emma Rapp, Moira Roddy, Meghan Sechrest, Ava Shaw, Brynlee Wolf

Loading more