Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
In observance of the Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday, the Telegraph and Daily Gazette newspapers will not be published January 20. Breaking news and information will be updated on

College Honors

UW – Whitewater

WHITEWATER, Wis. – Angela Nordman of Oregon earned a bachelor’s degree in mathematics May 18 at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater.

UW – Platteville

PLATTEVILLE, Wis. – Those earning bachelor’s degrees May 10 and 11 at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville include:

(*denotes spring chancellor’s list 4.0 GPA)

Amboy: Garrett Liebing

Byron: Danielle Hinshaw

Chadwick: Taylor Grenoble*

Erie: Koby Kuhnen

Forreston: Cassidy Langill

Fulton: Devin Kuehl, Tyler WIlkins

Lanark: Robert Wyeth*

Milledgeville: Owen Brown, Branninghan Hutchison, Harrison Jakobs, Nicholas Simpson

Mount Carroll: Eric Naples

Oregon: Chelsea Eden, Bryce Noon, Fallan Warnken

Prophetstown: Austin Gerlach, Craig Medema, Austin Turner

Rock Falls: Selver Beqiri, Cody Gillette

Sterling: Breanna Conboy*, Tre Gallegos*

Walnut: Andrew Smith

Those also named to the spring chancellor’s list include:

Mount Carroll: Emily Suit

Rock Falls: Michaela Ward

Those named to the spring dean’s list include:

Ashton: Adam Mairs

Byron: Seth Linhart, Kaley Mumma, Alex Wilfong

Chadwick: Rebecca Alexander, Taylor Grenoble

Compton: Marie Barnickel

Erie: Koby Kuhnen

Lanark: Robert Wyeth

Mount Carroll: Emily Suiter

Oregon: Fallan Warnken

Rock Falls: Michaela Ward

Savanna: Shelby Skiles

Shannon: Katrya Lessman

Sterling: Breanna Conboy, Tre Gallegos

Stillman Valley: Ethan Roberts

UW – River Falls

RIVER FALLS, Wis. – Those earning bachelor’s degrees from the University of Wisconsin – River Falls include Lindsey Wardlow of Forreston, communication sciences and disorders, summa cum laude; and Michaela Eden, agricultural business. Karina Nehrkor of Rock Falls earned a master’s degree in communication sciences and disorders.

UW – Milwaukee

MILWAUKEE – Those named to the spring dean’s list at the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee include: Madeline Ely of Amboy, Madelyn Vavra of Byron, Maddison Kirchner of Forreston, Emily Wallander of Morrison, and Sydney Arickx of Rock Falls.

UW – La Crosse

LA Crosse, Wis. – Students from Davis Junction earned degrees May 12 from the University of Wisconsin – La Crosse.

They are Leah Griesbach, bachelor’s degree, archaeological studies major: cultural anthropology emphasis, highest honors; and Kelsey Szymanski, master’s degree, exercise and sport Science: human performance.


NORMAL – Those named to the spring dean’s list at Illinois State University include:

Amboy: Katelynn Pankhurst

Byron: Danielle Bond, Anna Burke, Lauren Detig, Mya Hildreth

Chadwick: Caleb Skoog

Davis Junction: Austin Mayberry

Deer Grove: Michelle Cooney

Dixon: Keenan Longan, Brittani Sohn

Forreston: Maggie Curry, Nathaniel Stukenberg

Lyndon: Jensyn Mckinney

Morrison: Molly Mickley, Madison Steines

Oregon: Delaney Mahoney

Paw Paw: Haley Oros

Polo: Emily Ditzler

Prophetstown: Victoriah Miniel

Rock Falls: Collin Marcum, Peyton Milne, Amber Rasmussen

Sterling: Andria Fox, Abigail Langner, Lydia Lightner,Ashleigh Tira

Stillman Valley: Kane Vanbriesen

Walnut: Colton Johnson Tiana Kennedy

Western Governors University

SALT LAKE CITY – Brittani Berge of Rock Falls earned a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Western Governors University.


FREEPORT – Those graduating from Highland Community College include:

Baileyville: Keileigh Kloepping, Denise Peters, nursing

Byron: Alexis Streff, agricultural production; certificate, agricultural management

Forreston: Amanda Anderson, Kaitlyn Collins; Kylie Cruze, nursing, Trevor Drayton, Austin Howald, Cameron Timm, Michael Wubbena

German Valley: Haley Cuthrell, Alicia Gray, nursing; Melissa Watter, nursing

Lanark: Kimberly Cook, nursing; Courtney Davenport, Patrick Dertz, automotive mechanics, automotive service Level I, Level II; Candice Nepean, nursing; Sara Runyan, equine science, stable manager certificate, equine riding instructor certificate, general equine science certificate

Oregon: Noah Russell, cosmetology certificate

Polo: Travis McCaffrey

Shannon: Anthony Murphy, nursing; Nichole Potempa, nursing; Cole Schoeny, agricultural production certificate, welding and fabrication certificate, basic welding certificate; Tracy Siegner, professional education, Sylvia Watson

Sterling: Kile Long, agricultural production certificate, agricultural management

Drake University

DES MOINES, Iowa – Jacob Reynolds of Sterling earned bachelor’s degrees in English and journalism and mass communications, magazine during the spring semester at Drake University.

Washington University

ST LOUIS – Jared Harrison of Dixon was named to the spring dean’s list a McKelvey School of Engineering at Washington University.

Luther College

DECORAH, Iowa – Gabby Betzer of Milledgeville was named to the spring dean’s list at Luther College.

Southwestern College

WINFIELD, Kan. – John Dickerson of Sterling graduated with a bachelor’s degree during the spring semester at Southwestern College.

Mount Mercy College

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa – Abigail Richardson of Byron was named to the spring dean’s list at Mount Mercy College.

Trinity Christian College  

PALOS HEIGHTS – Collin Puckett of Fulton and Ana Kuper of Shannon were named to the spring dean’s list at Trinity Christian College.

Carthage College

KENOSHA, Wis. – Dallas Clevenger of Rock Falls graduated May 26 from Carthage College.

University of Dubuque

DUBUQUE, Iowa – Those named to the spring dean’s list at University of Dubuque include:

Byron: Jacob Heitter

Dixon:  Olivia Walter

Erie: Lexus Georgean

Mount Carroll: Trevor Miller

Oregon: Stacia Burke

Polo: Hanna Blumhoff, Ethan Cain

Savanna: Hailey Barsema, Paige Davidson, Sara McGovern. Caleb Stines, Riley Sullivan

Loading more