Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

New looks for AFC, Morrison school boards

Only one incumbent defeated in rural school board elections

Two incumbents and two newcomers each won wide races for Morrison and Ashton-Franklin Center school boards Tuesday.

Vice President James Ridley and Clarence “Gus” Linke Jr. were reelected to the Morrison board. Ridley received the most votes, 408, with Linke not too far behind with 370.

Terri L. Wilkens and Lauri A. Helms also were elected, with 327 and 272 votes, respectively.

Incumbent Brandon Shelton and hopefuls Ashley Belha, James DuBois and Sidonna Mahaffey fell short.

At AFC, incumbents Mark Delholtal and Tim Henert were reelected, with 392 and 314 votes, as were newcomers Jennifer Drew, with 410 votes, and Jackie Fransen with 302.

Missy Heisner, Heather Settles, Shaun Thompson and Gretchen Totzke were defeated.

In Amboy, incumbents Nicole Jones, with 226 votes, Jason Leffelman, with 280, and Nichole Stenzel, with 228, were returned to the board seats; Rory White fell short.

In Rock Falls District 13, where three seats were up for grabs, incumbents Robert L. Watts and Shawn Fritz were reelected. One write-in spot also was on the ballot, with Megan Mullan’s name appearing on most of the 20 write-in votes cast.

Board members serve 4-year terms.


Morrison school board (top four)

James Ridley – 408

Clarence "Gus" Linke Jr. – 370

Terri L. Wilkens – 327

Lauri A. Helms – 272

Ashley Belha – 265

James DuBois – 235

Brandon Shelton – 159

Sidonna Mahaffey – 109

Ashton-Franklin Center school board (top four)

Jennifer Drew – 410

Mark Delhotal – 392

Jackie Fransen – 302

Tim Henert – 314

Gretchen Totzke – 183

Shaun Thompson – 163

Heather Settles – 159

Melissa Heisner – 72

Amboy school board (top three)

Jason Leffelman – 280

Nichole Stenzel – 228

Nicole Jones – 226

Rory White – 160

Loading more