Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

Plenty of hopefuls on two rural school board races

Eight candidates jockey for four seats on Morrison, AFC school boards

Voters in the Ashton-Franklin Center and Morrison school districts will have plenty of options when voting for next month’s board rosters.

Along with the board election at Dixon Public Schools, AFC and Morrison are the only other districts in Lee and Whiteside counties to have incumbents run for re-election and face more than one challenger for their seat.

In Amboy, four candidates are running for three seats.

School board races are nonpartisan; the terms are 4 years.


Eight candidates are running in Mount Pleasant Township in Morrison: Incumbent Brandon Shelton and challengers Ashley Belha, James DuBois, Lauri A. Helms, Sidonna Mahaffey and Terri L. Wilkens. Voters may vote for only one or two from that township.

James Ridley of Clyde Township and Clarence “Gus” Linke Jr. of Union Grove Township are running again for rural seats. Ridley, the board’s vice president, also its dean, was elected in 2007.

Stephanie Nies, an incumbent from Mount Pleasant appointed in 2015, is not running.


Eight candidates also are running for four seats at AFC.

Incumbents Mark Delhotal of Franklin Grove and Tim Henert of Ashton are running.

Longtime members Bob Colwell and Cindy Knight are not seeking re-election. Colwell has been president since 2005; Knight is in her sixth year as secretary.

Hopefuls are Jackie Fransen, Melissa Heisner and Gretchen Totzke of Ashton; and Jennifer Drew, Heather Settles and Shaun Thompson of Franklin Grove.


In Amboy, incumbents Nicole Jones of West Brooklyn, Jason Leffelman of Sublette and Nichole Stenzel of Amboy are running again. Rory White of Sublette also is running. 

All other Lee and Whiteside school races are uncontested.

Some districts have open seats that are uncontested. Boards left with vacancies after the election may fill that seat with an appointment within 45 days. If a vacancy is not filled during that time, Regional Superintendent of Schools Bob Sondgeroth will appoint a member.

Loading more