Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

More than 100 Sauk Valley students named State Scholars

SPRINGFIELD – The Illinois Student Assistance Commission, which provides information and financial assistance to college-bound students, Tuesday released its list of the 2019-20 State Scholars, those students who are in the top 10 percent of high school seniors statewide, based on a combination of their ACT or SAT test scores and sixth semester class rank.

In the Sauk Valley, 101 students from 18 public and private schools made the list.

In all, more than 21,000 students from 757 schools achieved recognition this year, the ISAC’s 60th year issuing the designation. Honorees are announced based on the year they will begin their post-secondary education, not on the year they graduate from high school.

The honor comes with a congratulatory letter from ISAC, a certificate of achievement, and a downloadable digital Illinois State Scholar badge that can be displayed on students’ online profiles and social media platforms, and shared with prospective colleges, employers, and others. 

Go to to for the complete list of State Scholars, which is broken up by county, or for more information on the commission and the assistance it provides.

Whiteside County

• Erie High School

Travis Coleman

Abigail Eads

Gabriel Friedrichsen

Melanie Gustaf

Joshua Hammer

Jeremy Huizenga

Calvin Naftzger

• Fulton High School

Jenna Alstead

Mandy Alstead

Lauren Frick

Mckenzie Kettler

Zoey Klavenga

• Morrison Hgh School

Steven Kramoski

Cassandra Osborn

Mackenzie Ryder

Sarah Screnock

Meghan Sterenberg

• Newman Central

Catholic High School

Shay Hafner

Madaline Jacobs

Spencer Mauch

Meagan Moore

Brady Moran

Mary Powers

Emily Schaab

David Swegle

• Prophetstown High School

Austin Baeza

Grant Minssen

• Rock Falls High School

Alec Akerman

Molly Buck

Emily Buikema

Katelyn Carlson

Javier De La Torre

Tiana Green

Payton Lenox

Morgan Mandrell

Megan Marcum

Mackenzie Olson

Debra Ratliff

Gage Swanson

Gracie Young

• Sterling High School

Madison Anderson

Jacob Capes

Hunter Carrell

Trevor Carrell

Marcos Grande

Katelyn Grell

Samantha Hibbard

Julia Hoffman

Lauren Humphreys

Andrew Ivarson

Lauren Johnson

Carter Kenney

Kolton Loos

Tiara Munoz

Joshua O’Brien

Jessica Payne

Zaina Rumbolz

Nathaniel Stout

Jenna Truesdell

Sierra Villarreal

• Unity Christian High School

Joseph Woods

Lee County

• Amboy High School

Clayton Kemp

Mitchell McLaughlin

Kaitlyn Ortgiesen

Mackenzie Payne

Cameron Simpson

Mary Thompson

• Ashton-Franklin

Center High School

Hannah Halfacre

Luke Warner

• Dixon High School

David Binkley

Alyssa Bonnette

Calista Crone

Katie Drezen

Chloe Hogenson

Andrew Lohse

Aidan Long

Jennifer Lucas

Taylor Masters

Hallie Nelson

Owen Rick

Addison Schmall

Madison Seggebruch

Gabriel Sohn

• Paw Paw High School

Anthony Castaldo

Ogle County

• Oregon High School

Bailey Nelson

Abbie Ring

• Polo Community High School

Kyle Brown

Colton Emmert

Lane Hopkins

Patricia Plachno

Carroll County

• Eastland High School

Justus Dobish

Kaden Henze

• Milledgeville High School

Titus Jilderda

Megan Miller

Bureau County

• Bureau Valley High School

Jacob Callahan

Allison Debrock

Marissa Endress

Emily Fordham

Stephanie Gripp

David Lind

• Ohio Community High School

Bethanie Quarton

Loading more