Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

Republicans win all but one Ogle County race

Democrat earns seat in District 3

Cheryl Smith signs in with election judge Charlie Smith Tuesday morning at the Buffalo Township Precinct at the Polo Senior Center.
Cheryl Smith signs in with election judge Charlie Smith Tuesday morning at the Buffalo Township Precinct at the Polo Senior Center.

OREGON – As expected in a Republican stronghold, the GOP nearly swept the three contested races in Ogle County on Tuesday.

The only exception was in County Board District 3, where Democrat Lloyd Droege defeated Republican Jamey Sulser 743 votes to 498 to win a 4-year term.

Republican incumbent Greg Sparrow was re-elected with 724 votes in District 3, which includes Flagg Township Precincts 1, 2, 3, 6, and 7.

All three are from Rochelle.

Although he lost the election, Sulser will remain on the county board for 2 years because he was appointed in October to fill out an unexpired term.

Droege’s success means two Democrats will now sit on the 24-member county board, along with 22 Republicans.

The other Democrat is longtime board member Bobbie Colbert, who is also from Rochelle.

Republicans were successful in every other county race.

Incumbents Pat Nordman and Wayne Reising, both of Oregon, kept their seats on the board in District 2, defeating Democratic challenger Jerry Shirar, of Oregon.

Vote tallies were 1,640 for Nordman, 1,256 for Reising, and 870 for Shirar.

District 2 includes Oregon-Nashua, White Rock, Pine Rock, and Lafayette Townships.

The outcome was much the same in District 7, which includes Mount Morris, Maryland, and Forreston Townships.

Republicans Stan Asp of Mount Morris, and Dean Fox of German Valley, garnered 1,435 votes and 1,239, respectively to Mount Morris independent Chris Kolling’s 569.

All three were running for the first time.

In all five of the other county board districts, two Republican candidates ran unopposed for two seats.

In District 1, which includes Dement, Lynnville, Monroe, and Scott Townships, incumbent Rick Fritz of Monroe Center, got 1,691 votes, and newcomer Benjamin Pihl Youman of Davis Junction, got 905.

In District 4, which includes Flagg Township Precincts 4, 5, 8, 9, 10, and 11, incumbents John (Skip) Kenney and Bruce W. McKinney received 1,291 and 1,733 votes respectively.

In District 5, which includes Marion, Rockvale, and Leaf River Townships, incumbents Martin Typer and Richard Daniel Janes, both of Stillman Valley, garnered 2,199 and 1,585, respectively.

In District 6, which includes Byron Township, incumbent Dorothy R. Bowers, of Byron, got 1,652, and newcomer Todd M. McLester, also of Byron, received 1,218 votes.

In District 8, which includes Brookville, Lincoln, Eagle Point, Buffalo, Pine Creek, Woosung, Grand Detour, and Taylor Townships, incumbent Lyle Hopkins, of Polo, and newcomer Susie Corbitt, also of Polo, received 1,991 and 1,609, respectively.

All terms are 4 years, and newly elected officials take office on Dec. 1. 

Three other unopposed Republicans were also elected to 4-year terms for county offices.

Brian VanVickle of Rochelle, earned a second term as sheriff with 16,337 votes.

Laura Cook of Oregon, received 16,377 votes for a second term as county clerk.

Linda Beck was elected to her first term as county treasurer with 16,237 votes. She was appointed to the post in June.

Loading more