Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

SportShorts for Tuesday, November 21, 2017


Comets place five on TRAC all-conference first team

The Three Rivers released its football all-conference teams on Monday for both the Rock and Mississippi divisions.

Five players from Newman, three each from Morrison, Erie-Prophetstown and Fulton, as well as Bureau Valley junior Kale Barnett earned first-team honors.

Newman senior Easton Bianchi was a unanimous selection to the TRAC Rock first team as a running back and a kick/punt returner, as well as a first-team defensive back. Junior Drew Ackman was a first-team selection as
a center and defensive lineman.

Guard Trevor Buser and linebacker Chase Graham were also tabbed to the first team at their respective positions for the Comets. Senior Landen Vesley was the first-team punter and second-team quarterback.

Morrison senior Aaron Deter was a unanimous first-team selection at linebacker, and a second-team running back. Other Mustangs named to the first team were defensive lineman Grant Abell and defensive back Reilly Dolan.

Austin Schroeder was a first-team running back for Fulton, while Ethan Fish was a first-teamer on the defensive line for the Steamers. Nate Wierema was tabbed a first-team tackle and a second-team defensive lineman.

BV’s Barnett was a unanimous selection as an end, as well as a second-team defensive back.

In the Mississippi Division, Erie-Prophetstown placed three players on the first team. Garrett Passmore made the list as a running back, Justice Youngberg as a defensive lineman, and Mat Garrison as a linebacker.

For the full all-conference teams from both divisions, see B3.


O’Brien named MVP, Howell Coach of the Year in Arrowhead

For the second year in a row, Sauk Valley’s Bailey O’Brien was named the MVP of the Arrowhead Conference.

Also named to the all-conference team were Sommer Rhea, Hannah Peterson and Gwen Lohr-Fandel. Jay Howell was named Coach of the Year.

The Skyhawks were 10-0 in conference play, winning all 10 matches in straight sets en route to and eighth-place finish at the NJCAA Division II National Championships.

Loading more