Overcast and Breezy
41°FOvercast and BreezyFull Forecast

Alumni football: Comets win battle with Clippers

Published: Sunday, July 13, 2014 11:34 p.m. CDT
(Michael Krabbenhoeft/mkrabbenhoeft@saukvalley.com)
Newman's Tony Bahrs (5) right, runs the ball while Amboy's Jeff Daniels (89) tries to tackle Bahrs during the first quarter of the Amboy vs. Newman Alumni Football game in Amboy.
(Michael Krabbenhoeft/mkrabbenhoeft@saukvalley.com)
Amboy's Johnny McCrary (54) and James Heath tackle Newman's Dugan Repass during the alumni football game.
(Michael Krabbenhoeft/mkrabbenhoeft@saukvalley.com)
Newman's Justin Shippert (1) tackles Amboy's Chad Beetz Saturday during the alumni football game.
(Michael Krabbenhoeft/mkrabbenhoeft@saukvalley.com)
Newman's Clayton Norberg (45) runs the football while Amboy's Tanner Wilhelm attempts to tackle Norberg Saturday during the alumni football game.
(Michael Krabbenhoeft/mkrabbenhoeft@saukvalley.com)
Amboy's Mike Stephenitch (2) prepares to throw the ball.

AMBOY – The Newman Comets beat the Amboy Clippers 24-6 on Saturday at the Harbor, but unlike the game that will happen between the two schools on Oct. 24 in Sterling, the final score really wasn't that important.

Saturday's contest was an Alumni USA game, the players were on the field to help support their schools and to get the chance to suit up with friends and family members.

Larry Ybarra, a 1969 Newman graduate, played along with his son, Larry, a 1995 grad.

“Just being on the field with my son and representing the school was the best part of my experience.” the elder Ybarra said, while admitting to being a little stiff. “It is a little different game from when I played 45 years ago. These kids hit hard.”

Ybarra was the oldest player in the game.

Newman's Clayton Norberg (2005) won the offensive player award. Norberg scored the second touchdown for the Comets in the second quarter, breaking off a 60-yard run. He also scored a two-point conversion in the third quarter.

The defensive award went to Sam Cassens (2001). Cassens recorded several solo and assisted tackles and was a disruptive force in Amboy’s backfield. Zach Holmes (2006) won the sportsmanship award.

The offensive player award for Amboy went to 2002 graduate Roy Tylkowski, who had several first-down carries for the Clippers. He also returned kicks and punts. He was the team’s punter and played on defense. Johnny McCrary (2005) took home the defensive player award. McCrary had some big tackles, and he blocked a punt that led to Amboy’s only points.

The sportsmanship award went to Chris Fleming (1995). Sean Glen (1988) took home the oldest player award for the Clippers.

Other notable highlights of the game were Newman's Justin Shippert’s 1-yard run for a touchdown. Tony Bahrs (2008) added the 2-point conversion run to make it 8-0 with 9:23 left in the second quarter.

On the ensuing possession, the Clippers drove the ball to the Comets 15-yard-line, but they were denied on fourth down.

Newman went three-and-out, losing three yards and punting from its own 12-yard-line.

Amboy's Luke Welch (1997) recovered the ball in the end zone for the touchdown, after McCary blocked a punt. The PAT failed to make it 8-6 with 6:50 left in the second quarter. At the 3:22 mark, Norberg scored his touchdown. Bahrs made it 16-6 after the 2-point conversion run.

With 6:22 to go in the third quarter, Newman's Kyle Moore (2013) recovered a muffed punt return at the Clippers 19-yard-line. Seven plays later, Larry Ybarra Sr. scored a 3-yard touchdown. Norberg's conversion run made it 24-6 with 2:44 left in the third quarter.

The contest was ended with 1:54 to play in the fourth quarter because of inclement weather.

Get breaking news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from Sauk Valley Media!

More News

National video

Reader Poll

There’s a movement afoot in the Illinois Legislature to name former President Barack Obama’s birthday (Aug. 4) as a legal holiday in Illinois. What do you think?
Good idea
Bad idea
Not sure
No opinion