43°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Area FFA members attend national convention

Published: Saturday, July 19, 2014 1:15 a.m. CDT
Jacob Casey (from left), Becca Holley, Josi Anderson, Elizabeth Rath, and Daniel Hartman, West Carroll Chapter members, were named the state team winners in the Novice Parliamentary Procedure Career Development Event.
Makayla Huizengn (left) and Shawna Lott, West Carroll members, accepted the Banker’s Plaque on behalf of the chapter.
Chloe Carson (center), West Carroll chapter member, won the Diversified Livestock Production State Proficiency Award. With her at the presentation were, Dan Hartman (from left) and Don Mathey, West Carroll advisers; and her parents, Stacy and Ronald Carson of Mount Carroll. She also won the Top 10 Section President Award.
Andrew Smith of Bureau Valley won the Silver Chapter President Award.
Nicole Bannick of Bureau Valley shows off her State FFA Degree.
Willard Mott (from left), Bureau Valley High School FFA adviser, Annika Carter, Jay Norden, Tom Brummel, Kristyn Ehnle, Drew Fordham, Emma Deppen, and Trey Dale, Bureau Vallley students, visit the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library during their June trip to Springfield.
Rebecca Holley (front row, from left), Brianna Kampmeier, Karley Metz, Katessa Sibley, Contessa Ehlers, Bailey Durward, Elizabeth Rath, Cassie Johnson, Makayla Huizenga, and Christy Ralston; and (back row) Rachel Dykstra, Josi Anderson, Tom Watson, Glenn Hoffman, Dylan Williams, Cameron Ehlers, Shawna Lott, Kristen Houzenga, Jacob Casey, and Daniel Hartman, West Carroll High School FFA members attended 86th annual state FFA Convention in June. West Carroll photos submitted by Don Mathey.
Katessa Sibley (from left) Dylan Williams, Karley Metz, Tom Watson, and Clare O’Connor, West Carroll members, earned their State FFA Degree. Not pictured are Demi Hess, Jacob Carey, and Kelbi Schneidern.

SPRINGFIELD – More than 3,500 Illinois FFA high school students, including members of the West Carroll FFA chapter in Savanna and Bureau Valley High School chapter from Manlius, participated in the 86th annual state FFA Convention June 10-12 at the Prairie Capital Convention Center.

The featured theme, inspired by the state officer team was “Planting Your Potential.”

West Carroll FFA members recognized include: 

Cloe Carson of Mount Carroll, Top 10 in State Section President Award.

Recipients of the award demonstrate exceptional dedication and leadership in guiding their respective section, and achieve the highest degree of excellence during their year of service to their section chapters, and to the Illinois Association FFA. 

Carson also won the Diversified Livestock Production State Proficiency Award.

Her Supervised Agricultural Experience includes working with Black Angus in the cow, calf operation.

She also was recognized for her work with brown sex-link laying hens, and cornish rock broiler chickens, that she sells and raises. 

Jacob Casey, Becca Holley, Josi Anderson, Elizabeth Rath, and Daniel Hartman were named the state winning team in the Novice Parliamentary Procedure Career Development, category.

Makayla Huizengn and Shawna Lott accepted the Banker’s Plaque on behalf of the chapter. 

The award is presented to the chapter in with the highest overall score in the state on the National Chapter Award application.

Awards presented to Bureau Valley FFA members include: 

Nicole Bannick received her Illinois State FFA Degree, Andrew Smith was recognized with the Silver Chapter President Award, and the chapter received the Silver Award in the National Chapter Award competition, and Silver placing in the Chapter Scrapbook Competition.

Kristyn Ehnle, chapter president, and Annika Carter, chapter secretary, served as delegates electing the 2014-2015 state officer team. 

Other chapter members attending convention served as ushers during two sessions of the convention.

Get breaking news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from Sauk Valley Media!

More News

National video

Reader Poll

Do you agree with President Trump ordering a missile attack against Syria in the aftermath of Syria’s apparent use of chemical weapons against its own people?
Not sure
No opinion