Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

SVM named best mid-size daily

Staff wins 17 awards in statewide contest

For the second year in a row, and the third time in the past 5 years, Sauk Valley Media has won the General Excellence award as best mid-size daily in a statewide contest sponsored by Illinois Associated Press Media Editors.

The staff of the Telegraph and Daily Gazette won a total of 17 awards, including seven for first place, in the competition among newspapers with a circulation of 15,000 to 40,000.

“We think we publish a pretty good newspaper, but it’s gratifying to receive this kind of recognition from outside observers,” said Larry Lough, executive editor of Sauk Valley Media. “We work hard to serve our communities, and the staff is most deserving of these honors.”

Judging for General Excellence is based on an evaluation of the entire newspaper on dates randomly selected by contest organizers.

Other awards were won by:


– Matt Mencarini for investigative reporting, for his examination of spending practices in the Ogle County sheriff’s office

– Christopher Heimerman for public service, for his series “The Naturals,” about improving personal nutrition

– Angel Sierra for the newspaper’s website,

– Jeff Rogers for headline writing

– Brian Weidman for sports feature writing

– Alex Paschal for photo illustration

Other winners were:


– David Giuliani and Derek Barichello for breaking news, for their report on the $40 million legal settlement the city of Dixon received in the wake of the Rita Crundwell scandal

– Christopher Heimerman and Dan Woessner for sports breaking news, for their coverage of the state basketball tournament

– Dan Woessner for sports feature, for sports column, and for headline writing

– Tara Becker and Derek Barichello for enterprise reporting, for their preview of Rita Crundwell’s sentencing

– David Giuliani for business reporting, for his comparison of jobless rates in Illinois and Iowa

– Alex Paschal for pictorial photo


– Christopher Heimerman for headline writing

– Alex Paschal for photo illustration

Awards will be presented June 12 at the annual APME awards luncheon in Springfield.

Loading more