30°FOvercastFull Forecast

Phidians’announce annual art show winners

Published: Saturday, April 19, 2014 1:15 a.m. CDT

DIXON – The 67th annual Phidian Art Club Art Show was April 10 at Loveland Community House.

The 87 entries were judged by Diana Garrett of Freeport, artist and former art educator. The work is on display through April 30; call 815-284-2741 for hours.

The award winners are John Wildman of Dixon, “At Ease,” Myrtle Walgreen Best of Show; Becky Hundrieser of Dixon, “It is a Barn,” Phidian Purchase Award; Craig Carpenter of Oregon, “Joy Ride,” Roger Brown and Iva L. Gamel Memorial Award; Sydni L. Reubin of Dixon, “Ross,” Phidian Past Presidents’ Award; Stuart Roddy of Coleta, “Rocks,” Dr. Martin Power Memorial Award for Best Landscape; Craig Carpenter of Oregon, “Short Shorts at the Tipi,” Judith Ann Valenti Memorial Award – Reflections of the Past; Suzanne Shedosky of Prophetstown, “Snow Melt,” Robert Crowson Memorial Award; Graydon Cafarella of Dixon, “Autumn Road,” Ann Roe Memorial Award for Best Watercolor; John McLane of Dixon, “Cloud Day in Banff,” Sauk Valley Bank Award for Best Oil; Nate Bierdeman of Dixon, “Weathering the Storm,” LeSage Memorial Award for Realistic Style; Lorraine Straw of Oregon, “Zachary and His Treehouse,” The Helen M. Dixon Memorial Award; Shirley Guay of Amboy, “Ancestral Shadows,” Marion Anderson Memorial Award for Multicultural Art; Carolyn Mastroianni of Freeport, “Explosion,” Ethel Kerchner and Hilda Meyer Memorial Award for Best Floral; Fred Bushnell of Stillman Valley, “Winter Lite,” Ruth Wood David Memorial Award for a Watercolor; Betty Kerchner Higby of Dixon, “Little Mouse on the Prairie, Autumn,” People’s Choice Award in Memory of Agnes Ferguson; Jane Cress Edgar of Grand Detour, “Remembering Mike,” Marie L. Helin Memorial Creativity Award; Terry South of Dixon, “Gunfighter & Old Glory,” KSB Hospital Award; Stuart Roddy of Coleta, “Cypress Trees,” Caryl Crawford Fleming Memorial Award for Best Nature Subject; Ellen Mumford of Dixon, “Hiersche Centennial Farm,” Ronald Reagan Presidential Award for Best Regional Scene; Sarah Mathew of Sterling, “Why Do Stars Come Down From the Heavens?,” Dixon Telegraph Award; and Debbie Thompson of Dixon, “Fall in the Meadows,” Ken Nelson Auto Plaza Award.

Honorable mention was awarded to Mame Cooper of Dixon, “Think Spring,” and Richard Anderson of Oregon for “Art Show Today.

Emerging artists awards went to Syndi L. Reubin of Dixon, “Justin,” first place; Lorraine Straw of Oregon, “Huntley’s Woods,”second place; and Betty Kerchner Higby of Dixon, “Berries for Bluebirds, Virginia Creeper,” and Ben Perez of Sterling, “Untitled in the Rain,” honorable mention.

Get breaking news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from Sauk Valley Media!

More News

National video

Reader Poll

There’s a movement afoot in the Illinois Legislature to name former President Barack Obama’s birthday (Aug. 4) as a legal holiday in Illinois. What do you think?
Good idea
Bad idea
Not sure
No opinion