42°FOvercastFull Forecast

Newman students earn recognition at banquet

Published: Saturday, April 26, 2014 1:15 a.m. CDT

STERLING – Newman Central Catholic High School’s scholastic bowl team’s annual awards banquet was April 6.

The team was the first scholastic bowl champion of the newly expanded Three Rivers Conference. The team members won the Masonic sectional in Morrison and advanced to the Masonic state tournament in Springfield, where they won the A Division.

Newman also was the Illinois High School Association regional championship for the third year in a row. They won the Keith Country Day Sectional for the first time in the school’s history, and advanced to the state tournament March 21 at the Peoria Civic Center, where they placed third.

Fresh-soph team members who received awards at the banquet were Erin Pasley, most improved player, and Shawn Rosengren, most valuable player.

Varsity award recipients were Andy Eifel, most improved player; Jakob Frank, 1,000 Point Award and All-Sectional Team; Todd Nelson, most valuable senior; Elliott Frankfother, most valuable player, 5,000 Point Award, All-Sectional Team, and First Team All-State: and Nate Edison, dedication and teamwork awards.

Ken Ellorando and Frankfother were named captains for the 2014-15 season.

Get breaking news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from Sauk Valley Media!

More News

National video

Reader Poll

There’s a movement afoot in the Illinois Legislature to name former President Barack Obama’s birthday (Aug. 4) as a legal holiday in Illinois. What do you think?
Good idea
Bad idea
Not sure
No opinion