57°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Morrison Junior High school musicians earn awards

Published: Saturday, April 19, 2014 1:15 a.m. CDT

MORRISON – An area music contest for junior high schools was March 22 at Morrison Junior High School.

Along with Morrison students, other competitors were from Erie, River Bend in Fulton, Riverdale in Port Byron, and Rock Falls. Morrison students were in 75 events. They earned 62 Division I (excellent) and 13 Division II (good) ratings.

Four Morrison performances were picked to be in the Honors Recital at the end of the day. They were a vocal duet by Shanna Hudson and Esperanza Xique, a clarinet solo by Kaleb McCoy, a boys’ vocal quartet by Grant Abell, Kaleb McCoy, Isaac Damhoff, and Dallas Wagenecht, and a snare drum trio by Grant Slater, Isaac Damhoff, and Adam Lindstrom.

The Morrison Junior High Band, under the direction of David Bean, earned Division I ratings on its performance of “Brass Triumphant March,” “The Invincible Warrior,” and “Variation Overture.” The Sixth Grade Choir earned Division I marks from the judges with “The Journey,” “In Flanders Fields,” and “Windy Nights.” The Seventh- and Eighth-Grade Mixed Chorus received Division I ratings on “Cantate Hodie!,” “May the Road Rise Up,” and “Let My People Go.” Both choirs were under the direction of Lindsay Greer.

Morrison Division I solos: Breanna White, Makayla DeSmit, Sydney Belanger, Clara Vegter, Zailey Greeno, Jenna Scott, Meghan Sterenberg, Chloe Stingley, Shanna Hudson, John Taylor, Misty Ogburn, Esperanza Xique, Kaleb McCoy, Cassie Osborn, Joy Sipes, Hannah Stralow, Tommy Wagenecht, and Grant Abell, vocals; Kaleb McCoy, piano; Lauren Bender, Sarah Screnock, Sydney Belanger, and Hannah Stralow, flute; Kaleb McCoy, Morgan Stuhlman, Meghan Sterenberg, Taylor Stratton, and Lindsey Houldson, clarinet; John Taylor, bass clarinet; Madison Steines and Jarrett Wiebenga, saxophone; Grant Abell, Landon McNeece, Chloe Stingley, Hannah Linder, Hannah Wallander, Griffin Vos, Jacob Brown, Isaak Shetler, and Cassidy Stoecke, trumpet; Molly Neumann, French horn; Brandon Freeman, trombone; Dallas Wagenecht, baritone horn; and Isaac Damhoff, snare drum.

Division II solos by Morrison: Grace Berry and Kolten Sage, vocal; Zailey Greeno, flute; Charidy Bland, oboe; Kamden Staples, saxophone; Samantha Makl, French horn; Clara Vegter, trombone; and Jonathan Fulton, tuba.

Morrison Division 1 ensembles: Shanna Hudson and Esperanza Xique, Zailey Greeno and Emma Peppers, Kaleb McCoy and Cassie Osborn, and Chloe Stingley and Grace Fischbach, vocal duets; Kaleb McCoy and Madison Steins and Bailey Smith and Lindsey Houldson, piano duets; Kaleb McCoy, Dallas Wagenecht, Isaac Damhoff, and Grant Abell, boys’ vocal quartet; Kaleb McCoy, Morgan Stuhlman, and Madison Steines, woodwind trio; Bailey Smith and Sydney Belanger and Sarah Screnock and Meghan Sterenberg, woodwind duets; Zailey Greeno, Hannah Stralow, Taylor Stratton, and Lindsey Houdson, mixed woodwind quartet; John Taylor and Shanna Hudson, clarinet duet; Landon McNeece and Grant Abell, trumpet duet; Dallas Wagenecht and Derek Bush, baritone duet; and Grant Slater, Adam Lindstrom, and Isaac Damhoff, snare drum trio.

Division II ensembles for Morrison: Taylor Stratton and Hannah Stralow, vocal duet; Sydney Belanger, Bailey Smith, Meghan Sterenberg, and Mackenzie Ryder, vocal double duet; Charidy Bland and Jenna Scott and Lauren Bender and Morgan Stuhlman, woodwind duets; and Samantha Makl and Molly Neumann, French horn duet.

Get breaking news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from Sauk Valley Media!

More News

National video

Reader Poll

Do you agree with President Trump ordering a missile attack against Syria in the aftermath of Syria’s apparent use of chemical weapons against its own people?
Not sure
No opinion