Light Rain
44°FLight RainFull Forecast

1st Gateway Credit Union celebrates 61st year

Published: Saturday, March 22, 2014 1:15 a.m. CDT
1st Gateway Credit Union had its 61st annual meeting March 8 in Clinton, Iowa. Board members and staff were recognized and three scholarships were awarded. The credit union has an office in Fulton. Photo submitted by Brett Cornish.

CLINTON, Iowa – More than 300 attended the annual meeting of First Gateway Credit Union March 8 at the Vista Grande.

During the meeting, scholarship winners were announced. Heather Hansen, a senior at Fulton High School, received the Jim Rasmussen Memorial Scholarship. Mara Bilyeu, also a senior at Fulton High School, and Morgan Peasely, a senior at Camanche High School in Iowa, both received the 1st Gateway Credit Union Scholarship.

The board of directors was honored for its volunteer hours. They are Jim Bengston Jr., Dan Bolte, Ann Eisneman, Elmer Jackson, Brian Johnson, Marilyn Rasmussen, Lanny Reed, Ted Tornow, Paul Varner, and Jim White.

Staff service awards went to Pat Drennen for 25 years; Lisa Steines, 20; Phyllis Housenga, 15; Cindy Frederick, 10; and Lance Blinkinsop, 5.

In 2013, the credit union expanded its field of membership to 15 counties and kicked off an expansion and remodeling project in the Clinton office.

1st Gateway has an office Fulton, and membership in Bureau, Carroll, Lee, Ogle, and Whiteside counties.

More News

National video

Reader Poll

An Illinois lawmaker wants to greatly restrict the use of solitary confinement in state prisons to no more than 5 days in a 150-day period. What do you think?
I agree
I disagree
Not sure
No opinion