Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

SportShorts for Wednesday, March 5, 2014


Two girls were left off the original email from the Three Rivers North containing the all-conference girls basketball selections.

Newman junior Julie Hurd and Prophetstown junior Heather Strike were omitted from the Second Team list.


Dixon’s Bailey
co-MVP in NIB-12

Dixon senior Brooke Bailey shared conference MVP honors with Ottawa’s Jasmin Bailey, the Northern Illinois Big 12 West announced this week.

Bailey was one of three locals selected unanimously to the all-conference first team, along with Sterling seniors Kaitlyn Bauer and Kiarra Harris. Dixon junior Carly Hartle also was a first-team selection.

Sterling junior Gabby Sandoval and Dixon junior Maggie Bushman were honorable mention picks. A complete list of the team can be found on B3.


Dixon hands out 2014 awards

Dukes senior Ryan Dixon and Duchesses junior Emily Quaco were named team MVPs at the Dixon High School bowling awards banquet Friday.

Dixon also won awards for the high game and high series of the season. Freshman Brandon Hamburg was named Rookie of the Year, and senior Tom Hopp won the Dukes’ Most Improved award.

Quaco also was honored for high varsity game and high varsity average, and was named Team Captain. Freshman Katlyn Bay had the high varsity series, and was named Rookie of the Year. Ashley Currier was Most Improved, Mackenzie Kavanaugh won Queen of the Hill, and Paige Himes took home the Team Spirit award.


Curie loses after coach reinstated

The day began with more optimism than Curie had felt in days.

Condors coach Mike
Oliver’s suspension was lifted before he missed a game, and there was hope that the Stamps brothers would be eligible if they reached the sectionals.

The day ended with Cliff Alexander and his Curie teammates collapsing – literally and figuratively – on the King gym floor.

Four days after being stripped of its city championship and 24 victories this season for using seven academically ineligible players, No. 1-ranked and top-seeded Curie was dealt a crushing 88-85 overtime loss by DuSable on Tuesday in a semifinal of the Class 4A King Regional.

DuSable (11-11) trailed by 15 points in the third quarter and hit five 3-pointers, including two each by Isaac Buford and Dontrell Whitaker, in the final 4 minutes, 10 seconds of regulation to force overtime.


Auburn grad MVC Player of the Year

Wichita State sophomore guard Fred VanVleet, a graduate of Auburn High School in Rockford, was awarded the Missouri Valley Conference’s Larry Bird Player of the Year trophy on Tuesday.

The 5-foot-11 VanVleet led the No. 2 Shockers to a 31-0 record, averaging 11.9 points, 4.0 rebounds and 1.6 steals per game.

Loyola guard Milton Doyle was named the MVC’s Freshman of the Year.

He led the Ramblers in scoring (15.1 ppg), assists (105), steals (38) and blocks (20), and was second on the team with 4.3 rebounds per game.


Newman to host 5K fundraiser

Newman High School will hold a 5K run on Saturday, April 19, at 9 a.m., to raise money for the school.

Entry fee is $20 before April 19, and $23 between 7:30 and 8:45 a.m. day of the race. Every participant will receive a t-shirt, and prizes will be awarded to the top overall male and female, as well as the top three finishers in each of eight different age groups. The course is out and back in the bike path along Lynn Blvd.

For more information, or to obtain a registration form, contact the high school at 815-625-0500, ext. 114.

Loading more