Light Rain
39°FLight RainFull Forecast

Lambrigtsen, Macomber are AP all-staters

Area duo named to 1st team

Published: Friday, Feb. 28, 2014 1:15 a.m. CDT
(Michael Krabbenhoeft/
Oregon's Sam Lambrigsten (2) shoots a 3-pointer against Rock Falls earlier this season. The Hawks senior was a first-team selection on the Class 2A AP all-state team, while Eastland junior Lexis Macomber was a 1A first-teamer.

Lexis Macomber has Eastland in the Final Four this weekend, playing for a Class 1A girls basketball state championship.

Macomber is also among the five best basketball players in Class 1A, based on voting for the Associated Press all-state teams that were announced on Thursday.

Joining Macomber as a first-teamer was Oregon senior guard Sam Lambrigtsen, a selection in Class 2A.

Macomber has guided the Cougars to a 28-5 record thus far, with two more games still to play. Eastland will take on Annawan (28-4) in the Class 1A semifinals today at 2 p.m., with the championship and third-place games on tap for Saturday.

Macomber, a 6-foot junior center, has averaged 15.8 points and 8.3 rebounds per game this season.

She was joined on the 1A first team by Annawan’s Celina Van Hyfte, Century’s Morgan Atherton, Central A&M’s Ryan Dooley, and Nokomis’ Ashley Schneider.

Second-team members were Annawan’s Cierra Davis, Goreville’s Haley Darnell, Hardin-Calhoun’s Grace Baalman, Dakota’s Jaycee Cleaver and Cissna Park’s Addison Stoller.

Among those receiving honorable mention notice were AFC junior Allison Prestegaard and Erie sophomore Rachel Cobert.

Lambrigtsen, an honorable mention selection as a junior, was a Class 2A first-teamer this season after stuffing the stat sheet with 22.5 points, 5.1 rebounds, 3.6 steals and 2.2 assists per game. She led the Hawks to a 19-12 record and a regional championship.

“This was definitely a goal of mine, especially after getting honorable mention last year,” Lambrigtsen said. “It’s pretty special, with it being my senior year. It’s just a good way to finish the year.”

Lambrigtsen was joined on the first team by Mt. Carmel’s Tyra Buss, Watseka’s Devin Curry, Teutopolis’s Madeline Hartke and St. Thomas More’s Tori McCoy.

Second-team members were Byron’s Ellie Lehne, Carterville’s Sidney Smith, St. Thomas More’s Lexi Wallen, Breese Central’s Maddie Timmerman, and El Paso-Gridley’s Rebekah Ehresman.

Among those receiving honorable mention notice were Prophetstown juniors Corrie Reiley and Clare Kramer. The Prophets (30-2) will take on IC Catholic (25-6) in the Class 2A semifinals tonight at 8:15 p.m.

• For a complete look at the 1A and 2A all-state teams, turn to B3.

Get breaking news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from Sauk Valley Media!

National video

Reader Poll

There’s a movement afoot in the Illinois Legislature to name former President Barack Obama’s birthday (Aug. 4) as a legal holiday in Illinois. What do you think?
Good idea
Bad idea
Not sure
No opinion