Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

College News

University of Illinois

CHAMPAIGN – Students receiving bachelor’s degrees during the fall semester commencement ceremony at the University of Illinois include:

Dixon: Bruno Kapacinskas, recreation, sport and tourism; Vivian R. McConnell, Spanish; and Laura Schrauth, philosophy.

Oregon: Ryan P. L. Schuster and Andrew J. McCormick, both electrical engineering.

Sterling: Sarah E. Adell, advertising; and Sean A. Galloway, computer engineering.

Students named to the fall dean’s list include:

Amboy: Jocelyn D, Delhotal, Westin P. Montavon, and Emily R. Setchell.

Byron: Kristen D. Brooks, Austin C. Deets, Kathryn J. Lillie, Ashley L. Dinges, and Katherine O. Stukenberg.

Dixon: Kurt D. Gale, Karin E. Lee, Thomas A. Clemens, Ryan D. Fane, Emily M. Clemens, Joshua B. Eriks, and Vivian C. Villegas.

Fulton: Bradley R. Dierks and Devin D. Borgman.

Lee: Jeremy P. Crumpton and Jordan L. Flewellyn.

Morrison: Colton H. Sedig.

Polo: Morgan R. Vock and Lynae R. Merdian.

Rochelle: Jonathan M. Pierce.

Rock Falls: Charles A. Rozhon and Kayla L. Moore.

Sterling: Andrew J. Haglund and Michael J. Fassler.

Carthage College

KENOSHA, Wis. – Students named to the fall dean’s list at Carthage College include Ashley Hahn of Ashton, Lindsay Stevens of Amboy, Cody Houzenga of Fulton, and Tod Schulter and Logan Sedig, both of Sterling.

Northern Michigan University

MARQUETTE, Mich. – Hannah Richter of Rochelle and Shannon Smith of Stillman Valley were named to the fall dean’s list at Northern Michigan University.

Saint Mary’s College

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Emma Brousseau of Walnut and Melissa Fitzpatrick of Mount Carroll have been named to the fall dean’s list at Saint Mary’s College.

University of Iowa

IOWA CITY, Iowa – Derrick Nelson of Mount Morris, Brandon Schreiner of Sterling, Miranda Schafer of Fulton, Scott Matthews of Prophetstown, and Riley Morrissey and Caroline Keesey, both of Dixon, have been named to the fall dean’s list at the University of Iowa.

UW – Oshkosh

OSHKOSH, Wis. –  Mariah McMullen, of Byron and Brooke Holloway of Leaf River have been named to the fall dean’s list at the University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh.

UW – Stout

MENOMONIE, Wis. – Michael Rick of Dixon and Stephanie Glick of Rock Falls received the Chancelor’s Award for the fall semester at the University of Wisconsin – Stout.

UW – Milwaukee

MILWAUKEE – Jacob L. Kleveland of Mount Morris was named to the fall dean’s list at the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee.

Loading more