48°FOvercastFull Forecast

College news

Published: Saturday, Feb. 15, 2014 1:15 a.m. CDT

UW – Platteville

PLATTEVILLE, Wis. – Students named to the fall dean’s list at the University of Wisconsin – Platteville include Patrick Fritz of Mount Carroll, Lawrence Hasken of Lanark, Robert Taylor of Oregon, Nicole Kriz of Walnut, and Cassandra Heusinkveld and Meredith Oostenryk, both of Morrison.

UW – Whitewater

WHITEWATER, Wis. – Maxx Hubbard of Sterling was named to the wrestling team at the University of Wisconsin – Whitewater.

Alexandria Sondgeroth of Rochelle was named to the women’s track and field team.

Cody Cassidy of Rochelle was named to the men’s track and field team.

Students named to the fall dean’s list include Katherine Kleinmaier of Dixon, and Logan Cannon, Brooke Hendricks, Allison Johnson, Megan Kinney, and Jenna Sargent, all of Sterling.

Northwestern         College

ORANGE CITY, Iowa – Victoria Horn of Morrison was named to the fall dean’s list at Northwestern College.

Edgewood College

MADISON, Wis. – Katie Medema of Prophetstown has earned fall semester honors at Edgewood College.

Northern Illinois University

DEKALB – Students receiving bachelor degrees Dec. 14 from Northern Illinois University include: 

Business: Christopher Duffy of Dixon and Tiffany Mills of Lanark.

Education: Caitlin McCartney of Dixon and Jacob Millhouse of Mount Morris, Kayla Juarez of Chadwick, and Lisa Good of Rochelle.

Science, liberal arts and science: Aaron Epps, Michael Grimes, and Julia Thornton, all of Dixon; Christopher Pierce of Rochelle; and Daniel Boyden, Jacqueline Owensby, and Heidi Rudolph, all of Oregon.

Art, liberal arts and science: Blair Sankey and Janette Clay, both of Dixon; Brian Graves of Kings; Fortunata Msilu and Jaime Castorena, both of  Rochelle; and Patti Gant of Amboy.

Engineering and engineering technology: Alan Toomsen of Dixon and Bradley Bauer of Oregon.

Health and human sciences: Amanda Trancoso of Rock Falls, Kristina Rangel of Rochelle, and Shawna Grim of Dixon.

Fine arts: Andrew Carlson of Rochelle. 

Those receiving master’s degrees include:

Health and human sciences: Stefanie Woodfall of Sterling.

Education: Ana Dominguez and Angela Mahoney, both of Oregon; Kara Murphy of Franklin Grove; and Therese Busard of Ohio.

Students named to the fall dean’s list include:

Amboy: Andrew Katzberg.

Ashton: Ermir Ramadani. 

Compton: Jennifer Courser.

Dixon: Heather Grobe, Danielle Bonvouloir, Jessica West, Jessica Garza, Aaron Epps, and David Bierdeman. 

Franklin Grove: Taylor Preston.

Kings: William Widick.

Lyndon: Wesley Brinkman.

Morrison: Trevan Burn Anna Robertson, and Joshua Screnock.

Mount Morris: Brianne Pruitt, Ryan Miranda, Ashley Dagner, and Dillon Ford.

Ohio: Erin Phalen.

Oregon: Jamie Mortlock, Allison Kerevenn, Jacob Ferencak, Liridona Zeciri, June Hockison, and Cassandra Bailey. 

Paw Paw: Timothy Bowerman.

Polo: Rebecca Wakenight, Scarlett Bunders, and Rachel Ports.

Rochelle: Christopher Lohse, Morgan Quinn, Cori Stewart, Drew Colclasure, Kelsi Eyster, Marcella Quinonez, Sarah Thompson, Brittney Bonebright, Olivia Caron, Megan Gardner, Ruby Nambo, Allison Reed, Karissa Kessen, Kelly Polz, Logan Quest, Anthony Wyatt, Kolver Matos, Sarah Greer, Kelsy Kuhnle, and Robert Bowers. 

Rock Falls: Carol Wei, Stephanie DeVries, and Olivia Guerra.

Sterling: Geoffrey Lemay, Nathan Asbury, Krista Ramirez, Edward Boesen, Brandon Quick, Cierria McPerryman, Lauren Zuidema, Sarah Trygstad, and Amy Inboden.

Black Hawk        College,            East Campus Galva, Kewanee

High Honors

Students named to the fall dean’s list at Black Hawk College include: 

Dixon: Rachel Hill

Morrison: Rebecca Stone

Prophetstown: Jill Meier.

Steward: Ivan Harvell

Walnut: Gracelynn Dale


Ashton: Melody Kaecker

Davis Junction: Jennifer Bathje.

Fulton: Tanner Jackson.

Morrison: Robert Deter.

West Brooklyn: Elizabeth Widolff.

Quad-Cities    Campus, Moline

High Honors

Deer Grove: Patrice Vary.

Erie: Brett Anderson, Jordan Henry, and Mackenzie Ryan.

Fenton: Tracy Bullock and Courtney Cobert.

Lyndon: Bryan Bunge.

Morrison: Connor Duncan, Margaret Hutson, and Mindy Remmers.

Prophetstown: Amy Jones, and Kristina Medema.

Sterling: Selma Estrada, Leah Megli, and Jamie Waters.


Erie: Joshua Bousman, Matthew Collins, Megan Heun, Christopher Jaquet, Koby Kuhnen, Victoria Majeski, and Stephanie Reul.

Lyndon: Kevin Adams

Sterling: Erika Olivo-Ledesma.

LeTourneau       University

LONGVIEW, Texas – Benjamin Carpenter of Rochelle was named to the fall dean’s list at LeTourneau University.

Michigan         Technological   University

HOUGHTON, Mich. – John Dietz of Walnut graduated Dec. 14 from Michigan Technological University with a Bachelor of Science degree in mechanical engineering.

Illinois State      University

NORMAL – Students earning Bachelor of Science degrees for the fall semester at Illinois State University include Alyssa D. Von Holten of Dixon, education, Chase A. Brackemyer of Lanark, Kaylene M. Becker of Ohio, nursing, Alexander S. Hesser of Sterling, Megan M. Scholl of Polo, and Benjamin N. Bruns and Shauna M. Thompson, nursing, both of Oregon.

St. Ambrose         University

DAVENPORT, Iowa – Students named to the fall dean’s list at St. Ambrose University include Lisa Lefevre of Ashton; Michael Ashworth, Antonina Costa, Savannah Gluck, and Chelsea Rakuc, all of Byron; Katie Bassett of Dixon; Alexandria Hunter and Conna Saad, both of Erie; Aubrey Graham and Lauryn Wiebenga, both of Fenton; Macy Fair of Franklin Grove; Cody Johnson, Amy Knight, Brennan Leonard, and Julie Wiersema, all of Fulton; Ellen Witte of Lee; Taylor Kent of Milledgeville; Erin Stansifer of Morrison; Kaitlyn Baker of Oregon; Josh Faivre of Polo; Amanda Bertolozzi, Ethan Foltz, and Cassandra Reiley, all of Prophetstown; Nathan Ackert, Linsey Brown, Chelsey McKee, and Lucas Terveer, all of Rock Falls; Martha Toth of Sterling; Devan Messer and Ashley Whitlow, both of Stillman Valley; Joshua Morales of Tampico; and Patrick Fisch and Olivia McDonald, both of Walnut.

Wheaton College

WHEATON – Allison Frankfother of Rock Falls was named to the fall dean’s list at Wheaton College.

Rochester          Community and Technical College

ROCHESTER, Minn. – Jessica Higgins of Dixon graduated with an Associate in Science degree in nursing from Rochester Community and Technical College.

Linn State       Technical College

LINN, Mo. – Joshua Bernardin of Rochelle was named to the fall dean’s list at Linn State Technical College.

Augustana        College

ROCK ISLAND – Justin Provo of Mount Morris and Darien Bardoner and Rhiannon Parvin, both of Sterling, submitted photos for the Augustana Good Fit T-shirt Photo Contest at Augustana College.  Bardoner and Provo submitted action shot category photos and Parvin submitted a with an alum category photo. Participants had to wear an Augustana T-shirt in the photo.

Winners are eligible to recieve one of five $1,000 scholarships. Voting at www.augustana.edu/Goodfit ends today.

Previous Page|1|2|Next Page

Get breaking news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from Sauk Valley Media!

More News

National video

Reader Poll

There’s a movement afoot in the Illinois Legislature to name former President Barack Obama’s birthday (Aug. 4) as a legal holiday in Illinois. What do you think?
Good idea
Bad idea
Not sure
No opinion