Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.


Luther College

DECORAH, Iowa – Students named to the fall dean’s list at Luther College include Savannah Horn and Connor Stanton, both of Morrison; Katelyn Janssen of Lanark; and Abigail Lobdell and Paige Lobdell, both of Sterling.

Educators of Beauty

STERLING – Tara Hayward of Amboy graduated from Educators of Beauty.

Iowa State University

AMES, Iowa – Students named to the fall dean’s list at Iowa State University include Cody D. Morris of Amboy; Jessica M. Sander of Baileyville; Rose A. Criscione and Moira E. Smith, both of Byron; Andrew J. Smith of Dixon; Alexandra R. Howard and Shelby F. Howard, both of Erie; Nicholas L. Hoogheem and Morgan A. Snyder, both of Fulton; Noelina G. Rissman of Leaf River; Aaron D. Strike of Monroe Center; Brittney D. Nelson, Derek E. Nichols, and Ashley L. Vegter, all of Morrison; Jared W. Horst of Mount Morris; Christopher W. Sible of Oregon; Matthew P. Clucas of Rochelle; Paige M. Dettman of Rock Falls; Jentry J. Fane of Sterling; Kimberlee L. Gerardy and Taylor A. Miles, both of Stillman Valley; Abigail M. Jergenson of Thomson; Trevin A. Kennedy and Donna L. McCune, both of Walnut; and Sarah A. Delhotal of West Brooklyn.

Cornell College

MOUNT VERSON, Iowa – Sandra Gomez of Rock Falls and Matthew Spaulding of Sterling have been awarded the Foundership Scholarship at Cornell College.

Highland Community College

FREEPORT – Students named to the fall dean’s list at Highland Community College include:

Highest Honors

Anna Drake and Kristin Kloepping, both of Baileyville; Morgan Heinz and Nicolle Zellers, both of Forreston; Kayla Martz and Wolodymyr Wirchnianski, both of Lanark: Angela Glessner, Elijah Principe, and Theresa Walton, all of Mount Morris; Terri Brandner and Heather Hawkins, both of Oregon; Sarah Duncan and Jonathon Lampe, both of Polo; Tara Garza of Rock Falls; and Colin Hamling of Savanna.            

High Honors

Cody Schultz of Albany; Joshua Oldenburg of Baileyville; Sarah James of Dixon; Nickole Jones, Nikayla Rager, Natasha Rippy, Tara Schwartz, and Jeffrey Whitson, all of Forreston; Blake Gordon, Brady Hazelbower, Kelly Heller, Samantha Kane, Laura Kniss, and Cody Polizzi, all of Lanark; Faith Volz of Mount Carroll; Tracy Melges of Mount Morris; Beau Schrader of Rock Falls; and Kylie Beaston and Noemi Magana, both of Savanna.


Nicholas Hess of Davis Junction; Jennifer Hernandez of Dixon; Allison Ludwig of Forreston; Jonathan Derrer, Abbey Grisham, Kyndra Nielsen, Devin Steen, and Christa Vandenburgh, all of Lanark; Sydney Groen of Leaf River; Alexander Markle and Jozi Wheat, both of Mount Morris; Shelley Larem, Haley Lundgren, Erinn Strauch, and Sara Urbanowitz, all of Mount Carroll; Virginia Head and Ilean Mauricio, both of Oregon; Michael Gouty of Savanna; and Allison Voth of Stillman Valley.

Ashford University

CLINTON, Iowa – Students named to the fall dean’s list at Ashford University include Kara Schriner and Jessica Windett, both of Byron; Brianna Herin, Haley Knutti, and Jenifer Ritenour, all of Chadwick; Nicole Buzzo of Davis Junction; Dustin Coss, Stephanie Englund, Caitlyn Fellows, Amanda McCracken, Amy Munk, Jessica Nutt, Robin Rosentreter, Jennifer Smith, and Jessica Winsett, all of Dixon; Erin Bowling, Shelby Bowling, Troy Jacobs, Stormy Melton, Katie Mitchell, Mariah Pratt, April Rick, and Erich Tempelmann, all of Erie; Jeremy Gramento of Forreston; Kelly Carney, Sydney Dixon, Denis Dobkowski-Rylko, Nicole Hayenga, Kayla Horton, Hillary Huebner, Kari Huizenga, Kayla Kampe, Amy McCallister, Connie McDonnell, Drew Nederhoff, Jennifer Phillips, Elaina Raab, Brandon Ray, Justine Reinhart, Lindsey Renkes, Regan Renkes, Tyler Renkes, Darrell Reynolds, Todd Reynolds, Kimberly Rogis, Alisha Tucker, Tracy Van Kampen, Andrews Vernazza, and Shelby Wilkens, all of Fulton; Sheila Macomber, Jessica Murray, and Cameron Priewe, all of Lanark; Riley DeBrock and Tyler Debrock, both of Manlius; Shonda Miller, Tasha Pyse, and Kayla Selman, all of Milledgeville; Keven Bielema, Patty Bush, Whitney Bush, Matthew Claeys, David Green, Kaitlyn Kenady, Cherish La Marche, Clayton Schuler, Sabrina Stock, Joanna Thiede, August Ufkin, William Vandermyde, and Alyssa Weeks, all of Morrison; Andrew Hughes and Diamond Merboth, both of Mount Carroll; Morgan McConnell of Mount Morris; Alexandrea Alborn, Alex Angell, Elizabeth Hess, and Catherine Medrano, all of Prophetstown; Nicole Benitez, Brad Chriest, Alivia Hatten, Jamie Johnson, Mindy Karrow, Ronnie Morse, Daneen Sandrock, Ashley Schmitt, Neddie Watts, and David Williams, all of Rock Falls; Brittany Acree, Stephanie Brown, LaManda Dykema, Jessica Gallacher, Rorrie Kramer, Emily Rath and Andrew Ritchie, all of Savanna; Erin Cassidy, Joleen Cortez, Jillian Crandall, Pamela Crawford, Christina De La Torre, Kirsten Filippi, Katie Guthrie, Christine Interone-Cutter, Morgan Martells, Elizabeth Maxwell, Sarah Powell, Edward Roberts, Pamela Schmidt, and Heather Wolf, all of Sterling; Charles Holsinger and Nicolas Palmeri, both of Stillman Valley; Melissa Moore and Zachery Nielsen, both of Tampico; and aye Dyson, Elliott French, and Lacey Koser, all of Thomson.

Hesston College

HESSTON, Kan. – Joshua Landis of Sterling has been named to the fall dean’s list at Hesston College.

McKendree University

LEBANON – Alina Llanas of Oregon has been named to the fall dean’s list at McKendree University.

Lewis University

ROMEOVILLE – Jennifer Beck of Rock Falls has been named to the fall dean’s list at Lewis University.

SIU – Edwardsville

EDWARDSVILLE – Mohammad A. El-Ahmad and Elizabeth A. Greenwalt, both of Dixon, and Brandon T. Miller of LaMoille have been named to the fall dean’s list at Southern Illinois University – Edwardsville.

Kansas State University

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Hannah Cristen of Oregon has been awarded the Mary Lucille and Walter Abmeyer Scholarship at Kansas State University.

UW – Stevens Point

STEVENS POINT, Wis. – Nathaniel T. Fore of Byron was named to the honors list for the fall semester at the University of Wisconsin – Stevens Point. Samuel R. Stone of Davis Junction was named to the high honors list, and Lauren J. Roalkvan of Rochelle was named to the highest honors list.

UW – Madison

MADISON, Wis. – Suzanna Rasmussen of Byron was named to the fall dean’s honors list at the University of Wisconsin – Madison. Anna Schaefer of Dixon, Sydney McCaslin and Hannah Munson, both of Sterling, and Thaddeus Hawley of Stillman Valley have been named to the fall dean’s list; and Stefanie Pennington of Sterling was named to the fall high honor roll.

Loading more