47°FFog/MistFull Forecast

Firefighters vote for new slate

Published: Saturday, Jan. 25, 2014 1:15 a.m. CDT

MANLIUS – New officers were elected at the January meeting of the Manlius Fire Department.

They are Aaron Roush, fire chief; Justin Doty, chief assistant; Rob Allen, first lieutenant; Ben Doty, second lieutenant; Robert Reglin, president; Mitch Doty, vice president; and Mary Hartz, secretary-treasurer.

Justin Doty conducted the meeting, with 12 members present. Roush gave a 40-year service pin to Bob Neahring. Justin Doty and Roush won attendance awards.

In other business, a check was received from the New Bedford Royal Neighbors of America Chapter 1491 for use of the department’s meeting room. Juanita Quickle and Jean Sawyer sent donation checks and cards after recent fires, and Dennis Thompson and First Baptist Church of Manlius sent donations. Money also was received from the James Jaggers Memorial fund.

The next training meeting will be at 6:30 p.m. Monday at the fire house, 225 Maple St. The next regular meeting will be at 6:30 p.m. Feb. 13 at the fire house, with Larry Lee Rowland on the lunch committee.

More News

National video

Reader Poll

An Illinois lawmaker wants to greatly restrict the use of solitary confinement in state prisons to no more than 5 days in a 150-day period. What do you think?
I agree
I disagree
Not sure
No opinion