35°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Savanna 4-H’ers elect new officers

Published: Saturday, Jan. 11, 2014 1:15 a.m. CDT

The Savanna Smiles 4-H Club met Nov. 10 in the meeting room at the University of Illinois Extension office in Mount Carroll.

Newly-elected officers are Kylie Beaston, president; Samantha Law, vice president; Katie Hoffman, secretary; Glenn Hoffman, treasurer; Adam Rath, reporter; Elizabeth Rath, historian; Saphire Harris and Andrew Law, recreation; and Katie Hoffman and Harris, Federation delegates.

The club reviewed a meeting in Lanark with the Lanark Lightning Bugs 4-H Club.

Lightning Bugs members showed Halloween decorations and played bingo. They also discussed getting club members together to watch a movie.

Members helped with a community-wide cleanup from Nov. 16 to 22, donated to the Kids Fund, and prepared a holiday meal for several needy families. 

The club also participated in the Festival of Trees at the historical building in Savanna, and helped the Carroll County Humane Society with raffle tickets.

The annual Christmas party was Dec. 8 at the Community Church in Savanna, with an ornament exchange.

Information submitted by Adam Rath.

Get breaking news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from Sauk Valley Media!

More News

National video

Reader Poll

Do you agree with President Trump ordering a missile attack against Syria in the aftermath of Syria’s apparent use of chemical weapons against its own people?
Not sure
No opinion