Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

Erie-Prophetstown wrestlers take second at Panther Invite

Warriors win in the water

Sterling High School’s boys swimming team took top honors in the 10-team Lopin Relays on Saturday at Rockford East High School.

The Golden Warriors amassed 157 points, 12 more than runner-up Moline. Belvidere (143), McHenry (121), and Rockford Christian (118) rounded out the top five.

Leading the way for the Sterling were a pair of event winners. Nick Mattox and Blake Ruiz combined for a time of 4 minutes, 44.03 seconds to win the 400 medley relay, while Lucas Campbell and Sam Wike teamed up for a time of 48.58 to take the 100 freestyle relay.

The Golden Warriors also took second place in the 200 fresh-soph medley, 200 medley, 400 freestyle (2x200), 200 butterfly (2x200), 200 breaststroke (2x100) and 400 freestyle relays.


Panthers 2nd at own invite: Paced by individual champions Jared Cole (145 pounds) and Dylan Binion (152), Erie-Prophetstown finished second in its own own invitational with 168 points, six fewer than Sherrard.

Rounding out the top five were Illini Bluffs (160), Morrison (154), and Newman (129).

Cole won a 10-1 decision against Illini Bluffs’ Zach O’Connor, while Binion was a 5-0 winner against Morrison’s Austin Keller.

Taking second for E-P were Nick Williams (170) and Noah Eads (195). Placing third were Josh Bowling (120) and Seth Montgomery (160).

Morrison had a pair of champions in 132-pounder Dylan Keller and 182-pounder Austin Shoup. Keller won a 7-4 decision against Fulton’s Cole Grant, while Shoup pinned Sherrard’s Jon Stoops in 3:43.

Taking second for the Mustangs were Austin Keller at 152 and Tyler Todd at 220.

Newman had a pair of champions in Brady Rude (160) and Bryce Ivey (170). Rude won a 7-0 decision against Polo’s Ethan Cain, while Ivey needed just 39 seconds to pin E-P’s Williams.

Rock Falls had one champion in Jevon Hey. The 113-pounder was a 3-1 winner against Rockford Lutheran’s Austin Grant.

Two Clippers win titles at Stillman: Jason Bontz and Ryan Leffelman each won their weight classes to help Amboy finish eighth at the 13-team Stillman Valley tournament.

The Clippers had 89 points. Sandwich (185.5), Maine South (167), Mercer County (154.5), Stillman Valley (148.5), and Lena-Winslow (112.5) were the top five squads.

Bontz won an 11-4 decision over Maine South’s Alec Basso in the 152-pound finals, while Leffelman took a 6-5 decision from Lena-Winslow’s Sean Cory at 170 pounds.

Oregon was ninth as a team with 72 points. The lone finalist for the Hawks was 195-pounder Tyler Blume, who was pinned by Sandwich’s Kyle Eighner in 4:33.

West Carroll had a champion in 126-pounder Jeff Casey. He won by pin in 2:14 over Lisle’s Danny Grant.

Girls bowling

Dixon fifth in DeKalb: The Dixon Duchesses placed fifth out of 12 teams at the DeKalb tournament with a pin total of 5,239 in six games. Sterling was ninth with 5,058.

Waubonsie Valley won the meet with 6,053.

Dixon had four bowlers finish within 29 pins of each other. Katlyn Bay led the way with a 1,086. She was followed by Emily Quaco’s 1,084, and Ashley Currier’s 1,068. Jenna Longan was right behind with a 1,057.

Sterling got big days from Magan Tintori at 1,157 and Destinee Howard 1,129. Erin Tabor added a 1,049.

Saturday’s stars

Jared Cole & Dylan Binion, EP, won titles at own invite

Dylan Keller & Austin Shoup, Morrison, won titles at EP

Brady Rude & Bryce Ivey, Newman, won titles at EP

Jevon Hey, RF, won title at EP

Jason Bontz & Ryan Leffelman, Amboy, won titles at Stillman

Jeff Casey, WC, won title at Stillman

Loading more