Overcast and Breezy
42°FOvercast and BreezyFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Gratitude for success of holiday event

Published: Saturday, Dec. 21, 2013 1:15 a.m. CDT

The Morrison Chamber of Commerce would like to express its sincerest gratitude to all businesses, organizations, school groups, churches, and individuals who participated in the 26th annual Morrison Christmas Walk celebration.

The 2-day celebration included the lighting of the Christmas tree, live nativity scene, lighted parade, Christmas Tree Walk auction, church suppers, entertainment, refreshments, and warm hospitality. 

Christmas Walk parade winners were best decorated vehicle – Resthave Nursing and Retirement Home; best community group entry – Kids for Christ; best business entry  – Morrison Community Hospital; most spirited entry – Henry C. Adam Memorial Library; and best use of theme – Morrison Elementary School. 

Trees recognized in the Christmas Tree Walk auction were best of show – Vegter Steel Fabrication, Kelly Vegter, decorator; honorable mention – Morrison Schools Foundation, Heather Bush, decorator; most creative – Morrison Community Hospital, administration department, decorators; traditional Christmas – Resthave Nursing and Retirement Home, Tawnya Bottoms and Marcia Blean, decorators; and highest bid on a tree – Fat Boy’s Bar and Grill, Heather Bramm, decorator. Winners are to pick up their trees at the chamber office. Proceeds benefit “Banners for Main Street.” 

The Christmas Walk would not have been possible without the assistance of generous sponsors: Morrison Auto Supply Inc., The Dancer’s Hut, CGH Morrison Health and Vision Center, Wells Fargo Bank, Community State Bank, The National Bank, Farmers National Bank, Sterling Federal Bank, Whiteside News Sentinel/Shawver Press, The Prairie Advocate, Ashford University, and Dunlap Lodge 321.

Special thanks to the city of Morrison Public Works Department, Maurits and Jost Insurance Agency, Morrison Police Department, Nelson’s Electric, Rick’s Auto Body, Brethren in Christ Church, Santa and Mrs. Claus, Santa’s elves, parade judges and line-up volunteers, parade announcer Brian Zschiesche, Mayor Everett Pannier, Eric Phend, Sharon Habben, and Christmas Walk committee members Nance Anderson, Jean Eggemeyer, Jan Roggy, Diane Garcia, Heather Toppert, and Stephanie Vavra.

Note to readers: Corinne Bender is the administrator/economic director of the Morrison Chamber of Commerce.

Get breaking news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from Sauk Valley Media!

More News

National video

Reader Poll

There’s a movement afoot in the Illinois Legislature to name former President Barack Obama’s birthday (Aug. 4) as a legal holiday in Illinois. What do you think?
Good idea
Bad idea
Not sure
No opinion