Dixon High introduces its state scholars

DIXON – Fifteen Dixon High School students have been recognized as 2014-15 Illinois State Scholars, according to Principal Michael Grady.

The 15 recipients are: Haylee Altenburg, Annalise Ankney, Joan Bratt, Rachel Gascoigne, Brandon Helfrich, Paige Himes, Nancy Hummel, Maribeth Johnson, Christopher Kooy, Samantha Riggen, Caitlin Rozek, Simon Thorpe, Nathaniel Tipton, Thomas Whitcombe, and Whitney Wildman.

The award, given annually by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission, recognizes high school students from across the state as state scholars.

Illinois State Scholar winners rank in the top 10 percent of high school seniors from 773 different high schools. Selection is based on SAT, ACT and/or Prarie State Achievement Exam scores, and/or class rank at the end of the junior year. High school counselors work in conjunction with ISAC to determine the winners.

“Illinois State Scholars represent the best in educational excellence in Illinois,” said John Sinsheimer, ISAC interim executive director. “The commission applauds their success and salutes their families and the teachers at Dixon High School on this achievement.”