Light Rain and Breezy
41°FLight Rain and BreezyFull Forecast

Dixon High introduces its state scholars

Published: Saturday, Dec. 21, 2013 1:15 a.m. CDT
Dixon High School's Illinois State Scholars are (front row, from left) Annalise Ankney, Rachel Gascoigne, Whitney Wildman, Joan Bratt, Samantha Riggen, and Simon Thorpe; and (back row) Paige Himes, Haylee Altenburg, Nathaniel Tipton, Tom Whitcombe, Brandon Helfrich, Christopher Kooy, and Maribeth Johnson. Not pictured are Nancy Hummel and Caitlyn Rozek. Photo submitted by Amy Ebert.

DIXON – Fifteen Dixon High School students have been recognized as 2014-15 Illinois State Scholars, according to Principal Michael Grady.

The 15 recipients are: Haylee Altenburg, Annalise Ankney, Joan Bratt, Rachel Gascoigne, Brandon Helfrich, Paige Himes, Nancy Hummel, Maribeth Johnson, Christopher Kooy, Samantha Riggen, Caitlin Rozek, Simon Thorpe, Nathaniel Tipton, Thomas Whitcombe, and Whitney Wildman.

The award, given annually by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission, recognizes high school students from across the state as state scholars.

Illinois State Scholar winners rank in the top 10 percent of high school seniors from 773 different high schools. Selection is based on SAT, ACT and/or Prarie State Achievement Exam scores, and/or class rank at the end of the junior year. High school counselors work in conjunction with ISAC to determine the winners.

“Illinois State Scholars represent the best in educational excellence in Illinois,” said John Sinsheimer, ISAC interim executive director. “The commission applauds their success and salutes their families and the teachers at Dixon High School on this achievement.”

Get breaking news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from Sauk Valley Media!

More News

National video

Reader Poll

There’s a movement afoot in the Illinois Legislature to name former President Barack Obama’s birthday (Aug. 4) as a legal holiday in Illinois. What do you think?
Good idea
Bad idea
Not sure
No opinion