72°FFairFull Forecast

Few contests in Ogle County March primary

But Harn, Rock will have foes

Published: Thursday, Dec. 5, 2013 1:15 a.m. CDT

OREGON – While Ogle County voters in the Republican Party primary election March 18 won’t have many contested races to decide, two key posts are at stake.

Sheriff Michael Harn will have two Republican challengers. State’s Attorney Michael Rock will have one.

Democrats will have even less on their ballot – one candidate for Ogle County Board.

Hopefuls in county races had until Monday to file their candidacies.

Harn, of Forreston, will seek his second 4-year term as sheriff. He’ll be challenged in the primary by Rochelle Police Officer Brian Van Vickle and Rock Valley Police Chief Joe Drought, also a Rochelle resident.

Rock, of Byron, was appointed state’s attorney in January. He’ll face Republican primary opposition from Oregon attorney Eric Morrow.

County Clerk Rebecca Huntley, of Chana, and Treasurer John Coffman, of Polo, are running unopposed in the Republican primary.

Also without primary challenges are all Ogle County Board candidates.

Kimberly Kirkolis, of Davis Junction, is not seeking a second term in District 1. J. Nick Bolin, of Holcomb, is seeking the Republican nomination.

Incumbent Republican Patricia Nordman, Oregon, is the only candidate in District 2.

Veteran board member Bobbie Colbert, of Rochelle, the only Democrat running for a county post, is seeking selection in District 3.

Incumbent Bruce W. McKinney, of Rochelle, is running in District 4, while Richard Daniel Janes, of Stillman Valley, is seeking another board term from District 5. Both are Republicans.

Incumbents Leroy Meyers, of Byron, and Rich Gronewold, of Forreston, are running again in Districts 6 and 7, respectively.

Longtime board member Lyle Hopkins is running in District 8.

The configuration of the County Board changed in 2012, when districts were reapportioned following the the 2010 census.

The candidates running in 2014 drew 2-year terms.

The reapportionment also increased board districts from four to eight. Consequently, some board members elected in 2012 drew 2-year terms, while others drew 4-year terms.

Each district is represented by three county board members.

Candidates successful in the March primary will be on the ballot for the November general election. After the primaries, political parties will have the chance to fill vacancies on their ballots.

National video

Reader Poll

A constitutional amendment on the Nov. 8 ballot would block Illinois from spending money collected through transportation taxes for non-transportation purposes. What do you think?
I support the amendment
I don't
Not sure
No opinion