35°FOvercastFull Forecast

Students perform with District 8 Festival

Published: Saturday, Dec. 7, 2013 1:15 a.m. CST
Illinois Music Educators Association festival performers from Morrison include (front row, from left) Allison Houldson, Joy Sipes, Chloe Stingley, Megan Emerson, Cassie Osborn, and Zach Osborn; (second row) Morgan Stuhlman, Dallas Wagenecht, Kaleb McCoy, Colleen Elfline, and Eryn Young; and (third row) Morgan McCulloh, Kurtis Klimson, and Kyle McCoy. Not pictured are Grant Abell and Ashley Hagerman. Photo submitted by David Bean.

MORRISON – Fifteen Morrison students sang and played instruments at the Illinois Music Educators Association District 8 Festival Nov. 16.

The junior high and high school students rehearsed with hundreds of students from 85 northwestern Illinois schools to perform two concerts of choral and instrumental music at DeKalb High School.

The senior band included Eryn Young, clarinet; and Colleen Elfline, alto saxophone.

The senior chorus included Kurtis Klimson, Kyle McCoy, and Morgan McCulloh.

In the junior band were Kaleb McCoy and Morgan Stuhlmann, both clarinet; Grant Abell, trumpet; and Dallas Wagenecht, euphonium.

Allison Houldson and Zachariah Osborn were in the junior mixed chorus.

Among the junior treble chorus members were Joy Sipes, Cassie Osborn, Chloe Stingley, and Megan Emerson.

Nearly 2,000 students auditioned for these five ensembles and approximately 700 were selected.

In addition, Elfline played the second alto saxophone and Ashley Hagerman and played vibraphone in the senior jazz band at the ILMEA District 8 Jazz Festival Nov. 9 at Rochelle Township High School.

ILMEA provides festivals in nine regions. More than 1,2000 students took part this year. District 8 includes more than 100 schools in Carroll, Whiteside, Lee, and Ogle counties.

More News

National video

Reader Poll

Lee County State's Attorney Anna Sacco-Miller took a leave of absence after being charged with driving under the influence. Do you think she should resign?
Not sure
No opinion