32°FFog/MistFull Forecast
Chicago Cubs Commemorative Soft Cover Book

Congrats to musicians for achievements

Published: Tuesday, Oct. 29, 2013 1:15 a.m. CST

The Challand Middle School Band Boosters would like to congratulate the many Sterling Public Schools students who were selected to participate in the Illinois Music Educators Association District Music Festival.

On Oct. 12, Sterling High School hosted auditions for the Illinois District 8 Music Festival. More than 1,800 students from nine counties auditioned for spots in the honor choirs, orchestras, and bands. Students selected for the ensembles will spend a day at DeKalb High School or Augustana College rehearsing with other top musicians and working with outstanding guest conductors and composers.  

Sterling Public Schools is well represented this year by the following musicians: junior orchestra – Sonia Chino, Liam Estes, Amber Kuhn, Mikio Martinez, Abby Nitz, Zaina Rumbolz, and Shemajah Torres; junior band – Zachary Wade, Akira Tanton, Emma Boze, and Shelly Saathoff; junior choir – Sydney Johnson, Abby Nitz, Mitchell Clodfelter, Brad McClendon, Brianna Chandler. Anna Mohr, and Madeline Geil; senior orchestra – Ashley Kuhn and Cody Lund; senior choir – Elise Foster, Meghan Clodfelter, Sloan Coss, Elliot Sheets, and Jesse Sigel; senior band – Emma Kermott, Nicole Podkulski, and Brandon Colmark.

Congratulations also to Erik Oberg, Barb Lauff, Rex Neff, Melissa Mondello, and Mike McCoy for their dedication and commitment to these outstanding musicians and to all music students at Sterling Public Schools. 

Note to readers: Dawn Marruffo is the president and Amy Boze is the treasurer of the Challand Middle School Band Boosters.

National video

Reader Poll

President Barack Obama leaves office Jan. 20. How would you rate his overall performance?