Overcast and Breezy
23°FOvercast and BreezyFull Forecast
Shaw Media Auctions

Boys cross country: SVM scouts 2013 regionals

Published: Friday, Oct. 25, 2013 12:10 a.m. CST

Class 2A

Sterling Regional

When: 10:45 a.m. Saturday

Where: Woodlawn School, Sterling

Local teams: Dixon, Sterling

Rest of field: Belvidere, Belvidere North, Boylan, DeKalb, Freeport, Marengo, Rochelle

Runners to watch: Simon Thorpe, Dixon; Cody Sondgeroth, Dixon; Jon Landis, Sterling; Eryk Yunk (Belvidere North); Jacob Howe (Belvidere North); Jon Libby (Belvidere); A.J. Engelson (Boylan); Isaac Hietanen (DeKalb)

Advancement: Top six teams and five runners not on those teams advance to the Belvidere Sectional

Class 1A

Winnebago Regional

When: 11 a.m. Saturday

Where: Fuller Memorial Forest Preserve

Local team: Oregon

Rest of field: Byron, Durand, Genoa-Kingston, Harvard, Kirkland-Hiawatha, Keith Country Day, North Boone, Pearl City, Rockford Christian Life, Rockford Lutheran, Rockford Christian, Winnebago, Woodstock Marian

Runners to watch: T.J. Pitcock, Byron; Nick Monkemeyer (Rockford Christian); Alan Daly (Winnebago); Nathan Smith (Winnebago); Jorge Pichardo (Harvard); Austin Burkhart (Oregon)

Advancement: Top seven teams and five individuals not on those teams advance to the Oregon Sectional

Bureau Valley Regional

When: 10 a.m. Saturday

Where: Bureau Valley North Junior High, Walnut

Local teams: Amboy, Bureau Valley, Eastland, Erie-Prophetstown, Ohio, Rock Falls, Newman

Rest of field: Cambridge, Galva, IVC, Kewanee, Orion, Princeville, Wethersfield

Runners to watch: Brayden Hamblen (Rock Falls); Seth Williams (Rock Falls); Bryson Reyes (Newman); Drew Rosengren (Newman); Daniel Trone (Bureau Valley); Cooper Pauley (Eastland); Lucas White (Erie-Prophetstown); Rolando Aguilar (Kewanee); Michael Cook (Wethersfield); Cody Baele (Wethersfield)

Advancement: Top seven teams and five individuals not on those teams advance to the Oregon Sectional

National video

Reader Poll

Rock Falls is considering a ban on leaf burning. Should the city finally take that step?
Yes. Sterling and Dixon have had bans for years. It’s time for Rock Falls to impose a ban.
No. It would be too great a burden for homeowners to dispose of fallen leaves in other ways.
Not sure
No opinion