46°FOvercastFull Forecast

School news

Published: Saturday, Oct. 12, 2013 1:15 a.m. CDT

(Continued from Page 1)

Ashland University

ASHLAND, Ohio – Miranda Greth of Erie has been awarded the Director’s Scholarship to attend Ashland University. She will receive $7,000 annually. Greth, who is a senior at Erie High School, will attend Ashland in the 2014 fall semester.

Augustana College

ROCK ISLAND – Amelia Beveroth of Sterling, a senior majoring in elementary education, was one of six Augustana College teacher candidates who spent 5 days at the Florida School for the Deaf and Blind in St. Augustine. This was part of the students’ Augie Choice involvement experience. The group studied teaching methods for the children, who are deaf and or blind.

North Central College

NAPERVILLE – Madison Cromwell of Morrison has earned a presidential scholarship at North Central College. She is studying biology.

Monmouth College

MONMOUTH,  – Tessa Ginn of Dixon had a role in Monmouth College’s production of “The Fourposter,” Oct. 3-6 at the college’s Wells Theater.

University of Cincinnati

CINCINNATI – Teresa Jones of Stillman Valley was named to the dean’s list at the University of Cincinnati.

University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

WHITEWATER, Wis. – Brooke Hendricks of Sterling has made the 2013-14 University of Wisconsin-Whitewater women’s tennis team. She is a freshman majoring in general business.

University of Illinois

URBANA – Alyssa Baratta of Dixon and Lauren Schneiderbauer of Sterling have been accepted into the University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine.

Southeast Missouri State University

CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo. – Shane Blair of Rock Falls graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in business administration after the summer session at Southeast Missouri State University.

Eastern Illinois University

CHARLESTON – Students earning bachelor’s degrees this summer at Eastern Illinois University include Andrea M. Yarbrough of Albany, arts; Anthony D. Celletti of Byron, science; and Jennifer A. Lee of Sterling, arts.

Educators of Beauty

STERLING – Jenny Cain-Riffle of Tampico has graduated from Educators of Beauty in Sterling.

Samantha Dewey of Franklin Grove has been named October Future Graduate at Educators of Beauty.

Highland Community College

FREEPORT – Among the students receiving Highland Community College Foundation scholarships are:

Baileyville: Anna Drake, James Schneiderman Memorial; and Kristin Kloepping, Marilyn Casey, nursing.

Forreston: Susan Sugden, Betty J. and Lyle F. Gillespie Memorial, auto mechanics; and Matthew Gors, Joey Stott.

German Valley: Candace Keller, H.G. Kable Memorial.

Lanark: Devin Steen, Harold D. Walkup, and Abbey Grisham, Northwest Illinois Deer Collectors Club.

Mount Carroll: Sara Urbanowitz, Betty and Ray Stamm.

Mount Morris: Angela Glessner and Jordan Pontnack, Davis and Balluff; Pontnack, Harry A. Warthen; and Tracy Melges, Leonard C. and Mildred F. Ferguson Foundation, nursing.

Oregon: Virginia Head, Betty and Ray Stamm.

Rochelle: Grant Prusator, Larry and Jean Kahl Athletic.

Lincoln Memorial University

HARROGATE, Tenn. – Jacob Nysather of Sterling received his white coat at the White Coat Ceremony for the Class of 2017 Sept. 21 at Lincoln Memorial University – DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine.

Get breaking news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from Sauk Valley Media!

More News

National video

Reader Poll

There’s a movement afoot in the Illinois Legislature to name former President Barack Obama’s birthday (Aug. 4) as a legal holiday in Illinois. What do you think?
Good idea
Bad idea
Not sure
No opinion