46°FOvercastFull Forecast

College news

Published: Saturday, Sept. 21, 2013 1:15 a.m. CDT

U of I


CHAMPAIGN — Kathryn Lillie of Byron, Connor Sible of Oregon, John Whitman of Rochelle, and Hannah Jakobs of Sterling have been named chancellor scholars at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Laura Child of Amboy has been selected to receive the Kyle Wagenecht Family Scholarship for the 2013-14 academic year. She is an animal sciences major at the school.

St. Louis College of Pharmacy

ST. LOUIS – Benjamin Minch of Dixon was one of 242 students who participated in a white coat ceremony at St. Louis College of Pharmacy, the first step in becoming a pharmacist. Minch will graduate in 2017.

Trine University

ANGOLA, Ind. – Trevor Hall of Sterling has joined the men’s golf team at Trine University.

Rockford College

ROCKFORD – Students earning bachelor’s degrees May 19 from Rockford College include Debora Trancoso of Dixon, management studies; Molly Seaberg of Rochelle, arts; Brittany Salvador of Oregon, science; and Kelly Timm of Rochelle, Cheryl Riley of Oregon, and Connie Spott of Polo, nursing.

Master’s degrees were awarded to Wendy Nelson of Oregon, management studies; and Ricardo Gonzalez of Sterling, business administration.

Purdue University

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – Marisa Nakajima of Oregon earned a Bachelor of Science degree in electrical engineering, and James Pietryga of Dixon earned a Doctor of Pharmacy degree at Purdue University.

Indiana University

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Jonathan Ortman of Oregon has been named to the University of Indiana’s College of Arts spring dean’s list.

Iowa State University

AMES, Iowa – Students earning bachelor’s degrees from Iowa State University include Morgan Shirk of Morrison, communication studies; and Breanne Hunter of Oregon, journalism and mass communication, cum laude.

Those earning master’s degrees include Alene Vandermyde of Morrison, teaching, science education; and Kimberly Brown of Oregon, soil science, environmental science.

Educators of Beauty

STERLING – Miranda Klockenga of Tampico has graduated from the cosmetology program at Educators of Beauty.

University of St. Francis

JOLIET – Nicole Gorsegner of Oregon, a member of the University of St. Francis orientation board, assisted a record number of freshmen students and their families Aug. 15-18 as they moved into the residence halls.

Get breaking news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from Sauk Valley Media!

More News

National video

Reader Poll

There’s a movement afoot in the Illinois Legislature to name former President Barack Obama’s birthday (Aug. 4) as a legal holiday in Illinois. What do you think?
Good idea
Bad idea
Not sure
No opinion