44°FFog/MistFull Forecast

College honors

Published: Saturday, July 13, 2013 1:15 a.m. CDT

North Central College

NAPERVILLE – North Central College celebrated its 148th Commencement June 8.

Students earning bachelor degrees include: Derek Flessner of Amboy; Caroline Clay, Haley Kirk, Travis Saville, Megan Schrock, and Emily Stewart, all of Dixon; Kayla Murphy and Kaitlyn Smith, both of Franklin Grove; Nora Beswick and Victoria Volckmann, both of Morrison; and Madison Henry, Marissa Slater, and Taylor Viering, all of Sterling.

Clarke University

DUBUQUE, Iowa – Alex Ludwig of Forreston has been named a 2013 Daktronics – National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics Scholar-Athlete at Clarke University.

To be eligible for the honor, student-athletes must maintain a 3.50 GPA on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved junior academic status. Clarke is a member of the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics and the Midwest Collegiate Conference.

Those named to the spring dean’s list at the school include: Kelsey R. Vinnedge of Forreston; Danielle E. Stralow of Morrsion; and Nicole R. Johnson of Prophetstown.

Kansas State University

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Hannah Christen of Oregon was named to the spring semester dean’s list at Kansas State University.

Winona State University

WINONA, Minn. – Jordan Barrington of Rochelle has been named to the spring dean’s list at Winona State University.

Eastern Illinois University

CHARLESTON – Students named to the spring dean’s list at Eastern Illinois University include Emily M. Hart of Amboy; Kaylie M. Keister of Baileyville; Megan E. Miller of Erie; Stephanie P. Arnold of Oregon; Sarah E. Englert of Rochelle; Allison M. Carbaugh of Sterling; and Bridgette A. Bowen of Stillman Valley.

Black Hawk College

MOLINE – Students named to the spring dean’s list at Black Hawk College – Moline campus include:

High Honors

Albany: Sara Calcote and Paige Rus.

Erie: Monica Blair, Jessica Crowe, Jordan Henry, Amber Herzmann, Zachary Maloney, Owen McConnell, and Katelyn Temple.

Fenton: Tracy Bullock, Courtney Cobert, Josh Gibson, and Sarah Stover.

Morrison: Mindy Remmers.

Prophetstown: Amy Jones and Shelby VanHoosier.

Walnut: Kimberly Brokaw.


Erie: Joshua Bousman, Kimberly Dollieslager, John Heun, Brooke Naftzger, Phillip Ross, and Martin Temple.

Fenton: Katelynn Blasdell and Lauryn Wiebenga.

Fulton: Adam Huizenga.

Lyndon: Nicholas Vanderleest.

Morrison: Allison Hanson, Margaret Hutson, and Ailey Sonberg.

Tampico: Renee Wetzell.

East Campus, Galva, Kewanee

High Honors

Amboy: Brent Ewald.

Stillman Valley: Brittany Hagemann.

Walnut: Gracelynn Dale.

West Brooklyn: Elizabeth Widolff.


Rock Falls: Alexandra Johannsen.

Steward: Ivan Harvell.

Linn State Technical College

LINN, Mo. – Sawyer Kuepker of Deer Grove graduated from Linn State Technical College.


Technical &

Community College

ALEXANDRIA, Minn. – Cody Stern of Rock Falls, recently graduated with honors with an Associate in Applied Science degree in computer voice from Alexandria Technical & Community College.

Get breaking news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from Sauk Valley Media!

More News

National video

Reader Poll

There’s a movement afoot in the Illinois Legislature to name former President Barack Obama’s birthday (Aug. 4) as a legal holiday in Illinois. What do you think?
Good idea
Bad idea
Not sure
No opinion