21°FFairFull Forecast
Shaw Media Auctions

Sauk awards memorial scholarship

Published: Saturday, June 22, 2013 1:15 a.m. CST

STERLING – Each year, the Sauk Valley Area Chamber of Commerce assists students in pursuing their dream of a college education.

This year the organization is awarding more than $7,000 in scholarships for the 2013-14 academic year. Money for the scholarships come from fundraisers held throughout the year.

The recipient of the $2,000 Ray Habben Memorial Scholarship was Andrew Klein of Amboy High School.

The SVCC Agri-Business Committee established the scholarship in memory of committee member Ray Habben, who died earlier this year.

Students earning $1,500 scholarships are Sarah Smith, a student at the University of Wisconsin – Platteville; Rachel Vaessen of Amboy High School; and Michele Nickrent of Sterling High School.

Hanna Jakobs of Sterling High School was awarded the $1,000 Charles A. Farnham Scholarship.

Students are chosen from Newman Central Catholic, Rock Falls, or Sterling high schools pursuing a business career.

Established in 1968, the award honors the late Farnham, who was an active member of the chamber. His professional background was focused in the area of industrial relations, serving in this capacity at Northwestern Steel and Wire.

All winners are invited to the chamber’s annual Steak Fry in the Country Aug. 8, which is a fundraiser for the agri-business scholarship fund.

For more information on the Sauk Valley Area Chamber of Commerce, its members or for a schedule of events, visit www.saukvalleyareachamber.com or call 815-625-2400.

More News

National video

Reader Poll

Rock Falls is considering a ban on leaf burning. Should the city finally take that step?
Yes. Sterling and Dixon have had bans for years. It’s time for Rock Falls to impose a ban.
No. It would be too great a burden for homeowners to dispose of fallen leaves in other ways.
Not sure
No opinion