Mostly Cloudy
33°FMostly CloudyFull Forecast

Sauk awards memorial scholarship

Published: Saturday, June 22, 2013 1:15 a.m. CDT

STERLING – Each year, the Sauk Valley Area Chamber of Commerce assists students in pursuing their dream of a college education.

This year the organization is awarding more than $7,000 in scholarships for the 2013-14 academic year. Money for the scholarships come from fundraisers held throughout the year.

The recipient of the $2,000 Ray Habben Memorial Scholarship was Andrew Klein of Amboy High School.

The SVCC Agri-Business Committee established the scholarship in memory of committee member Ray Habben, who died earlier this year.

Students earning $1,500 scholarships are Sarah Smith, a student at the University of Wisconsin – Platteville; Rachel Vaessen of Amboy High School; and Michele Nickrent of Sterling High School.

Hanna Jakobs of Sterling High School was awarded the $1,000 Charles A. Farnham Scholarship.

Students are chosen from Newman Central Catholic, Rock Falls, or Sterling high schools pursuing a business career.

Established in 1968, the award honors the late Farnham, who was an active member of the chamber. His professional background was focused in the area of industrial relations, serving in this capacity at Northwestern Steel and Wire.

All winners are invited to the chamber’s annual Steak Fry in the Country Aug. 8, which is a fundraiser for the agri-business scholarship fund.

For more information on the Sauk Valley Area Chamber of Commerce, its members or for a schedule of events, visit or call 815-625-2400.

More News

National video

Reader Poll

For the first time since 1935, the Chicago Cubs have accomplished a 100-win season. Do you think we have finally reached “next year” – the year the Cubs win the World Series?