Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

Tourtillott elected Dixon School Board president

Arduini and Shroyer officially seated as board members

DIXON – Pam Tourtillott was elected Thursday to replace Tom Balser as school board president.

After newly elected Terry Shroyer and Josh Arduini were seated, Tourtillott was nominated for president by board member Tom Lemoine and voted in unanimously.

Balser did not run for re-election after 12 years on the board and Woody Lenox was not re-elected.

Board members honored Lenox last month and Balser on Thursday.

In the former president’s parting comments, Balser called his service one of the greatest honors of his life.

“We always tackled the issue and this board was never a rubber stamp,” Balser said. “We voted with our conscience and moved on with no hard feelings.”

Board member Jim Schielein added that Balser was seen “everywhere” when it came to school events.

Lenox called his time on the board a learning experience “both personally and professionally.”

Tourtillott said she was interested in being president and wants to make the transition as smooth as she can.

Superintendent Michael Juenger said new board members are required to take 4 hours of training and complete an online tutorial on the Open Meetings Act.

Along with Tourtillott, Lemoine was elected vice president and Kevin Sward as secretary.

Also, the board voted to keep regularly scheduled meetings on the third Wednesday of the month at 6:30 p.m.

Loading more