11°FFairFull Forecast

Artists honored by area society

Published: Saturday, May 18, 2013 1:15 a.m. CST
Among those attending the Phidian Art Club's literary competition awards ceremony were (from left) Deborah Crowson, Mary Margaret Callaghan, Ann Edmonds, Marilyn Coffey, Catherine Rogers, Elizabeth Jahn, and Tatjana Kazan. Not pictured are Beth Baker Simeone and Marianne Huber. Photo submitted by Edmonds.

DIXON – Writers from across the Sauk Valley were recognized April 28 during the Phidian Art Club’s annual literary competition.

Prizes for poetry, fiction, and nonfiction were awarded at the Dixon Public Library. Winners were:

■ Poetry: First place, Elizabeth Jahn of Lee Center; second place, Marianne Huber of Dixon, and third place, Beth Baker Simeone of Oregon.

■ Nonfiction: First place, Ann Wienen Edmonds of Sterling; second place, Huber; and third place, Deborah Crowson of Dixon.

■ Fiction: First place, Tatjana Kazan of Amboy; second place, Huber; and third place, Edmonds.  

Prize sponsors were Doris Isgrig of Oregon, for the poetry division, in memory of her husband, Erik Isgrig; Books on First for fiction; and Sauk Valley Media for nonfiction. Committee members were Ann Wienen Edmonds, Catherine Rogers, Marilyn Coffey, and Sharon Callaghan.

Judges were Donna M. Bauerly, professor emeritus at Loras College in Dubuque, Iowa, for poetry; Sue Cording, English teacher at Galena and nearby community colleges, for nonfiction; and Rosalie Hewitt, professor emeritus at Northern Illinois University in DeKalb, for fiction.

More News

National video

Reader Poll

Of all the U.S. presidents born in February, which one is your favorite?
Ronald Reagan (Feb. 6)
William Henry Harrison (Feb. 9)
Abraham Lincoln (Feb. 12)
George Washington (Feb. 22)