Partly Cloudy
83°FPartly CloudyFull Forecast

Dixon students of distinction named

Published: Saturday, April 27, 2013 1:15 a.m. CDT

DIXON — The annual induction ceremony for the Blackhawk Chapter of the National Honor Society was conducted April 18 in the auditorium at Dixon High School.

The society ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for high school seniors. 

To be eligible for consideration, students must have a minimum 3.25 GPA.

Additionally, members must meet high standards of leadership, service and character.

Eligible members of the junior and senior classes were evaluated by the faculty council.

Seniors selected are Eduardo Escatel, Zacharia Emry, and Jessica Whetsel.

The junior members are Haylee Altenburg, Annalise Ankney, Joan Bratt, Alexis Duncan, Rachel Gascoigne, Jonathan Gerdes, Paige Himes, Hayley Kent, Jenna Longan, Alexis Plumb, Dane Schielein, Erin Smith, Simon Thorpe, Catherine Weinzierl, and Kari Wolfe.

These students join the following students who were elected to membership last year: Michael Barth, Kelsey Boll, Brenan Chacon, Thomas Clemens, Alyssa Diehl, Kacie Dillow, Joseph Hammitt, Jeremy Harris, Aaron Helander, Jennifer Hickey, Justin Hohlen, Matthew Kerr, Jordan Lorenz, Rachel Musser, Brittany Rumph, Hayley Thomas, John Thomas, Courtney Tressel, Vivian Villegas, and Mackenzie Wolfley.

National video

Reader Poll

A constitutional amendment on the Nov. 8 ballot would block Illinois from spending money collected through transportation taxes for non-transportation purposes. What do you think?
I support the amendment
I don't
Not sure
No opinion