37°FFog/MistFull Forecast

Judge’s decisions revealed

Published: Saturday, April 20, 2013 1:15 a.m. CDT

DIXON – Winners of the April 9 Phidian Art Club’s 66th annual art show have been announced.

The 93 entries will be on display until May 1 at the Loveland Community House, 513 W. Second St. Call 815-284-2741 for building hours.

The winners and their artwork are: Stuart Roddy of Sterling, “Icy Morning,” Myrtle Walgreen Best of Show; Ellen Kate Mumford of Dixon, “Last Snow,” Phidian Purchase Award, and “Pilgrimage Up Croagh Patrick,” first place, Class 2; Ellen Ebert of Polo, “Blue Vase and Oranges,” Sauk Valley Bank Award for Best Oil; Lisa Higby LeFevre of Sterling, “Interior Prairiescapes No. 11: Natural Force,” Dr. Martin Power Memorial Award for Best Landscape.

Jerry L. Scheffler of Ashton, “Reflections of Time,” Judith Ann Valenti Memorial Award – Reflections of the Past; Nate Bierdeman of Dixon, “Untitled,” LeSage Memorial Award for Realistic Style; Shirley Guay of Amboy, “Fire to Fire,” Marion Anderson Memorial Award for Multicultural Art; Judy Dixon, of Dixon, “Illinois Autumn,” Ruth Wood Davis Memorial Award for a Watercolor, and “Pantry (Tribute to Andy),” People’s Choice Award in Memory of Agnes Ferguson; Carla Hill of Dixon, “Sunflower Study,” Marie L. Helin Memorial Creativity Award.

Graydon Cafarella of Dixon, “Rocky Shore,” KSB Hospital Award; Beverly Garcia of Grand Detour, “Pink Peonies,” Ethel Kerchner and Hilda Meyer Memorial Award for Best Floral; Lucinda Winterfield of Dixon,”Opportunist,” Phidian Past Presidents’ Award; Becky Hundrieser of Dixon, “Koi Pond,” Robert Crowson Memorial Award; Richard L. Anderson of Oregon, “The Old Spruce Lookout,” Helen M. Dixon Memorial Award.

Kathye Aram of Shannon, “In the Cleft of a Rock,” Ann Roe Memorial Award for Best Watercolor; Ann Marie Potts of Sterling, “Oriental Lilies,” Caryl Crawford Fleming Memorial Award for Best Nature Subject; Rachelle Gunderson of Sterling, “Live Oaks,” Ronald Reagan Presidential Award for Best Regional Scene; James Hey of Dixon, “The Palms,” Roger Brown and Iva L. Gamel Memorial Award for Best American Scene.

Kimberly A. Gerry of Sterling, “Austin & Buttons,” Dixon Telegraph Award; Marvin A. Kunde of Oregon, “Grandpa’s Toys,” Ken Nelson Auto Plaza Award; Jan Harvey of Polo, “The Garden Gate,” and Pat Lathe of Dixon, “From My Window,” both Class I honorable mention; Nicholas Gjonola of Polo, “Symmetry,” second place, Class 2; and Judy Snyder of Freeport, “Country Bluebirds,” and Sarah Mathew of Sterling, “Celebrations!”, both Class 2 honorable mention.

The submissions were judged by Carolyn McKee-Freese of Serena.

Get breaking news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from Sauk Valley Media!

More News

National video

Reader Poll

There’s a movement afoot in the Illinois Legislature to name former President Barack Obama’s birthday (Aug. 4) as a legal holiday in Illinois. What do you think?
Good idea
Bad idea
Not sure
No opinion