Mostly Cloudy
22°FMostly CloudyFull Forecast

Two newcomers elected to RFHS board

Newcomers elected to other boards, too

Published: Wednesday, April 10, 2013 1:15 a.m. CST

ROCK FALLS – The Rock Falls High School Board will have two new faces next school year.

Stephen M. Mulvaney, assistant superintendent of the Rock Falls wastewater treatment plant, and write-in candidate Josh Coward, a Rock Falls High School alumnus, were among the four candidates elected to the seven-member school board Tuesday.

Incumbents John N. Howard and Howard F. Janssen also were elected.

Janssen raked in the most votes with 1,394. Howard garnered 1,271 votes, and Mulvaney secured 1,999.

Coward received 228 write-in votes.

They will serve 4-year terms.

In other races in Whiteside and Carroll counties:

n Prophetstown-Lyndon-Tampico School Board: Five candidates were vying for four seats.

Incumbents Douglas Wetzell, the current vice president; Jill M. Ringenberg, the current president; and Tya M. Boucher were re-elected to the board.

Newcomer Bruce Franks, a Prophetstown police officer, also was elected.

They will serve 4-year terms.

n Erie School Board: Seven candidates were vying for four seats.

The lone incumbent on the ballot, Charles W. Brown Jr., the current president, was re-elected.

Newcomers Jason Norman, Chad M. Miner and Gary M. Farral also were elected to the board.

The four will serve 4-year terms.

n Eastland School Board: Four candidates were vying for three seats.

The lone incumbent on the ballot, William R. Woessner, the current vice president, was re-elected.

Newcomers Jennifer L. Sturtevant and Steven W. Snider also were elected.

The three will serve 4-year terms.

National video

Reader Poll

Of all the U.S. presidents born in February, which one is your favorite?
Ronald Reagan (Feb. 6)
William Henry Harrison (Feb. 9)
Abraham Lincoln (Feb. 12)
George Washington (Feb. 22)