62°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

New member to take a board seat

Oregon, Forrestville Valley school boards each lose a member

Published: Wednesday, April 10, 2013 1:23 a.m. CDT

ASHTON – Incumbents Michael Gittleson and David Meurer retained their seats on the Ashton-Franklin Center School Board in Tuesday’s election.

Gittleson won the highest number of votes in the four-way race for three seats. He received 655 votes, or 27 percent. Meurer won 639 votes, 26 percent. Chad Murphy won 579 votes, 24 percent. Galen Hart was defeated. He won 551 votes, 22 percent.

In the six-person race for four seats in the Oregon School District, incumbent Barry Barton lost his seat when he came in fifth with 1,099, 14.29 percent. Corey Buck will be new to the board. He won fourth place with 1,322 votes, 17.19 percent.

Incumbent Edward Smith won the most votes, 1,530, 19.90 percent. Incumbent Bruce Obendorf took second with 1,378, 17.92 percent. Incumbent Bryan Wills took third place, 1,367, 17.78 percent. Kurt Wilson unsuccessfully vied for a seat and came in last with 994 votes, 12.93 percent.

Four people sought three seats on Forrestville Valley Community Unit School District, with schools in Forreston and German Valley. Incumbent Shannon Lizer lost her seat. She received 451 votes, 18.67 percent. Newcomer Robert J. DeVries won the most votes, 712, or 29.47 percent. Incumbents Jon Ludwig and Dennis Osterloo retained their seats with 636 votes, 26.32 percent, and 617 votes, 25.54 percent, respectively.

Get breaking news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from Sauk Valley Media!

National video

Reader Poll

Do you agree with President Trump ordering a missile attack against Syria in the aftermath of Syria’s apparent use of chemical weapons against its own people?
Not sure
No opinion