Mostly Cloudy
43°FMostly CloudyFull Forecast

Achievers recognized for sports, academic efforts

Published: Saturday, April 20, 2013 1:15 a.m. CDT

PAW PAW – Elementary students in sixth and seventh grade took part Feb. 13 in the Jump Rope for Heart fundraiser during physical education class. Participants raised $2,288.48 for the American Heart Association.

In other Paw Paw school news:

■ John Hoelzer, a Paw Paw High School sophomore, competed March 13 in the Worldwide Youth in Science and Engineering competition at Northern Illinois University. He received a third-place medal in English for Division 300.

■ Senior Night was Feb. 15, with prize drawings for a number of items as a fundraiser for the senior Class of 2013. Erv Safranek won the Mega Cash top prize of $519, while Cash Reichling won $223 for the second prize. Kathy Mangan received a Paw Paw Bulldogs quilt made by Betty Seidelman, grandmother of senior, Austin Safranek. Nina Castaldo Mitchell won a $50 gift card from Sherman’s, an appliance and electronics store in Peru.

■ Junior high and high school athletes were recognized March 13 during the winter sports award ceremony. Those honored were:


Junior high: Ola Soto, eighth grade, Best Base Award; LeeAnn Smith, seventh grade, Most Vocal Award; Joslyn Hopkins, seventh grade, Cheerleader of the Year; and Brieanna Bevans, seventh grade, Most Spirit Award.

High school: Morgan McCannon, Most Spirited, and Nick Ekstrom, Outstanding Dedication.


Eighth-grade boys: Robbie Hill, Best Defensive Player; Brandon Heiman, Best Offensive Player; and Antonio Solis, Coaches Award.

Seventh-grade boys: Brandon Heiman, Best Offensive Player; Robbie Hill, Best Defensive Player; and Trystan Sheridan, Coaches Award.

Boys varsity: Nicholas Siemers, Justin Wiley, and Zach Lilja, Most Valuable Players; Justen Penman and Wesley Kaiser, Co-Most Improved Player; and Jonathan Jenkins, Defensive-Hustle Award.

Boys junior varsity: Trevor Oros, Patrick Wiley, and Jason Kidd, Most Valuable Player; and Fred Randazzo, Defensive-Hustle Award.

Eighth-grade girls: Deona Collins, Best Offensive Player; Brieanna Bevans, Best Defensive Player; and Haley Oros, Coaches Award.

Seventh-grade girls: Joslyn Hopkins, Best offensive Player; LeeAnn Smith, Best Defensive Player; and Haley Oros, Coaches Award.

Girls varsity: Kasie Crawford, Heart Award; Danyelle Levan, Most Improved Player; Katelynn Lampson, Coaches Award; Josie Morgan, Offensive Award; and Jasmine Glenn, Defensive Award.


High school: Lindy Oates, Coaches Award; Heather Becker, Most Spirited Award; and Emily Wagner, Most Improved Award.

More News

National video

Reader Poll

An Illinois lawmaker wants to greatly restrict the use of solitary confinement in state prisons to no more than 5 days in a 150-day period. What do you think?
I agree
I disagree
Not sure
No opinion