Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

16 college news

Loyola University

CHICAGO – Jasmyn Kierczynski of Rock Falls was named to the fall dean’s list at Loyal University’s Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing.

Loras College

DUBUQUE, Iowa – Students named to the fall dean’s list at Loras College include Joshua M. Feldaus, Nicole C. Feldhaus, and Tyler M. Szymanski, all of Davis Junction; Tucker J. Brady of Dixon; Kaya L. Barnes of Lanark; Megan L. Fitzpatrick of Mount Carroll; and Sarah M. Cesarek of Rock Falls.

Western Illinois University

MACOMB – Duncan Gingrich, a Sterling High School senior, has been selected for Western Illinois University’s Centennial Honors Scholarship. The scholarship covers 4 years of tuition, fees, and a residence hall room at the school. 

High school students with an ACT score of 32 or higher and a 3.5 or higher GPA are eligible for the scholarship. 

Educators of Beauty

STERLING – Ashley Williams of Coleta graduated from the cosmetology program at Educators of Beauty in Sterling.

Coe College

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa – Caleb Miller of Sterling has been named to the fall dean’s list at Coe College.

UW – Platteville

PLATTEVILLE, Wis. – University of Wisconsin-Platteville hosted its largest winter graduation Dec. 15 at Williams Fieldhouse. There were 602 graduate and undergraduate students.

Among those receiving degrees are Alyssa Barnett of Morrison, biology; Erik Hill of Dixon, agricultural business; Shane Hussey of Franklin Grove, animal science; and Kurt Wolf of Erie, industrial technology management.

Illinois State University

NORMAL – Illinois State University students earning bachelor of science degrees during the fall semester at Illinois State University include Lindsey A. Brevitt of Dixon; Pamela L. Schneider of LaMoille, education; Michelle L. Bos of Morrison; Tara D. Hartman of Mount Carroll, nursing; Lillian M. Andrew, Kristine L. Bull, Robin L. Etnyre, and Jessica M. Kennay, all of Oregon; Brody M. Murray of Rock Falls; Mark M. Johnson of Sterling; and Andrea E. Kurth of Walnut.

Luke W. Meyer of Dixon earned a Doctor of Audiology degree.

St. Ambrose University

DAVENPORT, Iowa – Area students named to the dean’s list at St. Ambrose University are Michael Ashworth, Chelsea Rakuc, and Anthony Wittemeyer, all of Byron; Katie Bassett and Adrianna Love, both of Dixon; Blake Brooks and Alexandria Hunter, both of Erie.

Aubrey Graham of Fenton; Jaclyn Runkle of Forreston; Macy Fair of Franklin Grove; Brennan Leonard and Julie Wiersema, both of Fulton; Lani Kasten of German Valley; Christine Glomb of Lanark; Andrew Ballard of Leaf River; Taylor Kent of Milledgeville; Erin Stansifer of Morrison.

Kaitlyn Baker, Kate Groenhagen, and Kaitlyn Kielsmeier, all of Oregon; Josh Faivre of Polo; Cassidy Foltz, Ethan Foltz, and Emily Mosher, all of Prophetstown; Amber Sprowl of Rochelle; Jordan Chappell, Faye Gisi, Cody Koeppen, Chelsey McKee, and Abigail Tichler, all of Rock Falls.

Adele Ackert, Chelsea Depasquale, Kelly Granzow, and John Hanlon, all of Sterling; Derek Henkel of Sublette; and Andrew Ackerman and Gabriela Fisch, both of Walnut.

Concordia University

MEQUON, Wis. – Gabriel Metzger of Rochelle was named to the fall dean’s list at Concordia University.

Loading more