Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

College News

Ashford University

CLINTON, Iowa – Students named to the fall dean’s list at Ashford University include Shawn Goodhart and Adam VenHuizen, both of Albany; Felicia Carter of Amboy; Lance Painter of Ashton; Jennifer Cover, Kara Schriner, Robert Seaton, and Jessica Windett, all of Byron.

Haley Knutti of Chadwick; Tina Christ, Amy Munk, Jessica Nutt, Nathan Reinhold, Robin Rosentreter, Jennifer Smith, and Veronica Yancy, all of Dixon; Shelby Bowling, Troy Jacobs, Charla Pratt, April Rick, and Taylor Stewart, all of Erie; Sydney Dixon, Hillary Huebner, Kari Huizenga, Sheri Leonard, Amy McCallister, Connie McDonnell, Drew Nederhoff, Rachael Ottens, Jennifer Phillips, Elaina Raab, Clyde Rannow, Brayton Rasche, Brandon Ray, Erik Renkes, Lindsey Renkes, Regan Renkes, Tyler Renkes, Darrell Reynolds, Kimberly Rogis, Jerry Sikkema, Klark Sikkema, Camryn Simmons, Hilary Stratton, Debbie Swafford, Alisha Tucker, Tracy Van Kampen, Breanna VanOosten, and Ashley Wilkins, all of Fulton.

Courtney Olson of Harmon; Laura Anderson, Britney Kruse, Sheila Macomber, Kelsey Pierce, and Cameron Priewe, all of Lanark; Jeremy Gramento of Leaf River; Kayla Selman of Milledgeville; Adam Benters, Jill Beswick, Whitney Bush, Matthew Claeys, David Green, Timothy Houzenga, Cathy Jacobs, Catherine Kuehl, Cherish La Marche, Brandy McCrary, Clayton Schuler, Cassaundra Snow, Kayla Tenboer, Kara Todd, and Alyssa Weeks, all of Morrison.

Breanne Field, Andrew Hughes, Lulije Jusufi, James Shamp, and Loren Thacher, all of Mount Carroll; Morgan McConnell and Ashley Pillatzke, both of Mount Morris; Laura Ford of Polo; Alex Angell, Elizabeth Hess, Danelle Hungerford, Catherine Medrano, and Leslie Moncivais, all of Prophetstown; Nicole Benitez, Brad Chriest, Jesse Esquivel, Kyle Hacker, Jordyn Heppler, Jamie Johnson, Jeffrey Johnson, Bryan Lenox, Molly Lenox, Ronnie Morse, Daneen Sandrock, and Neddie Watts, all of Rock Falls;.

Brittany Acree, Stephanie Brown, Adam Cauley, Christina DeMoss, Theresa DeReus, LaManda Dykema, Jessica Gallacher, Rorrie Kramer, Christina Kubatzke, Charlene Leuer, April Miller, Jillian Miller, Emily Rath, and Angela Zielinski, all of Savanna.

Lindsay Aiello, Sarah Bauer, Katelynn Beck, Samantha Cameron, Jennifer CarSkaden, Erin Cassidy, Jami Castaneda, Joleen Cortez, Jillian Crandall, Pamela Crawford, Christina De La Torre, Ryan Derrer, Kirsten Filippi, Katie Guthrie, Darci Imel, Christine Interone-Cutter, Tyler Law, Melissa Marshall, Morgan Martells, Elizabeth Maxwell, Tammie Miller, Sarah Powell, Pamela Schmidt, Shawn Southard, Crystal Sublett, and Heather Wolf, all of Sterling.

Charles Holsinger and Nicolas Palmeri, both of Stillman Valley; Zachery Nielsen and Rebecca Toppert, both of Tampico; Alonzo Boardman, Faye Dyson, Joshua Hodge, Lacey Koser, Jaimie Storjohann, and Tyler Vandendooren, all of Thomson; and Alison Brokaw, Olivia Johnston, and Jezreel Joyce, all of Walnut.

University of Kentucky

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Natalie C. Meiners of Chana was named to the fall dean’s list at the University of Kentucky.

Western Illinois University

MACOMB – Area students earning Bachelor of Science degrees during the fall semester at Western Illinois University at Macomb and the Quad Cities campus include Andrew R. Davis of LaMoille, cum laude, law enforcement and justice administration.

Taylor A. Froeliger, summa cum laude, education, early childhood education; Cheyanne D. Hambelton, law enforcement and justice administration; and John P. Young, agricultural science, all of Erie.

Alexandria Deyo of Lyndon, law enforcement and justice administration; Dennis R. Behrens, cum laude, education, elementary education; Jeffrey B. Wirsing, network technologies, both of Prophetstown.

Rylan D. Adams, recreation, park and tourism administration; Jenah M. Burkitt, education, elementary education; and Sarah L. Dodson, psychology, all of Rock Falls; Justin C. Rodriguez of Sterling, recreation, park and tourism administration; Austin L. Anderson of Chana, agricultural science; Seth Gittleson, recreation, park and tourism administration; and Justin A. Heaslip, law enforcement and justice administration, both of Rochelle.

Paige M. Gordon of Lanark, hotel-restaurant management; Christopher D. Foltz of Mount Carroll, cum laude, education, special education; and Ericka J. Lopez of Thomson, zoology.

Bachelor of Arts degrees were awarded to Patrick M. Young of Prophetstown, general studies; Robert L. Dillon, English; Alex J. Meiners, communication; and Kimsa Brown Nelson, general studies, all of Sterling; Garrett Nettz of Dixon, general studies; Zachary E. Corirossi of Byron, communication; and Kelsey M. Wolfe of Oregon, cum laude, journalism.

Amanda S. Mayer of Sterling, earned a Bachelor of Business degree, management; and Mark D. Aska of Paw Paw earned a Bachelor of Music degree, music.

Master of Science degrees were awarded to Mindy K. Holesinger of Fulton, education, elementary education; Jennifer K. Morse of Dixon, education, counseling; Erica L. Ernst of Morrison, education, educational leadership; and Ronald A. Boardman, education, reading; Sharon E. Lenhart, education, reading; and Jenny R. Wheat, education, educational leadership, all of Sterling.

Loading more