Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

New law extends candidate filing deadline

Candidates wanting to file for a local office have a little more time to do so.

Gov. Pat Quinn signed a bill Dec. 2 moving the deadline to file petitions to run in the April municipal election from 5 p.m. Dec. 24 to 5 p.m. Dec. 26. Candidates may begin filing Monday.

Those wishing to file for a township office, such as township supervisor, clerk, highway commissioner or trustee, should contact that township’s office.

But candidates for multi-township assessorships or regional school board trusteeships in Whiteside County must file with the county clerk’s office, 200 E. Knox St., Morrison, County Clerk Dana Nelson said.

Lee County Clerk’s office, 112 E. Second St. in Dixon, will accept filings only for multi-township assessors, County Clerk Cathy Myers said.

Both county clerk’s offices will be closed Dec. 24-25 and open from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Dec. 26.

Election packets for Rock Falls municipal offices can be picked up at City Clerk Bill Wescott’s office, 603 W. Tenth St. Packets can be returned through 5 p.m. Dec. 26. City Hall will be closed on Dec. 24 and 25.

Four candidates had taken out petitions for city clerk as of the end of the day Thursday. They are Pam Martinez, Suzanne Dir, Edward Mulvaney and Eric Arduini.

Current City Clerk Bill Wescott is running for mayor against incumbent David Blanton.

In Ward 1, Alderman Mark Vandersnick is running for re-election. In Ward 2, Brian Snow is running. Jim Schuneman and Rod Kleckler are running in Ward 3, and John Watts is running in Ward 4.

For more information, contact Wescott at 815-622-1104.

Morrison’s mayor’s office will be closed Dec. 24 and Dec. 25 and open from 8 a.m to 5 p.m. Dec. 26, City Clerk Melanie Schroeder said. The office at 200 W. Main St. is normally open from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Positions up for election in Morrison are: mayor, city clerk, and one 4-year term as alderman in each of the four wards. Additionally, a 2-year term as alderman is also up for election as Scott Connelly was appointed to fill an unexpired term when Ronald Kallemyn resigned.

Those who have taken out petitions for Morrison city offices in April’s election as of Nov. 26 are: Mayor: Sarah Thorndike, David Jindrich, Marti Wood and Bob Snodgrass; Ward 1 alderman: David Zigler, Cheryl Bush and Jim Britt Sr.; Ward 2 alderman: Brian Zigler, Nancy Riggen; Ward 3 alderman, Curt Bender; ward 4 alderman (4-year term), Michael DeSpain; Ward 4 (2-year unexpired term): No candidate yet.

Schroeder has filed for re-election as city clerk.

The Morrison city clerk’s office can be reached at 815-772-7657.

Sterling’s filing deadline already passed Nov. 26 because the city has a city manager form of government, City Clerk Marie Rombouts said.

Two Sterling alderman at large positions are up for re-election, for which four candidates filed: John Stauter, Christopher Schuchard, Linda Marley and Javier Padilla, Rombouts said.

Dixon has no offices up for reelection in April, City Clerk Kathe Swanson said.

Reporter Kiran Sood contributed to this report.

Loading more