60°FFairFull Forecast

Lee County Board selects new chairman

Committee heads chosen; new term lengths drawn up

DIXON – The Lee County Board has a new chairman.

Rick Ketchum, D-Amboy, was approved unanimously at the board’s organizational meeting Monday. No one else was nominated.

Ketchum, 62, replaces Jim Seeberg, 80, who did not seek re-election.

John Nicholson, R-Franklin Grove, will continue to serve as vice chairman. No one else was nominated for that post.

Ketchum also assigned committee chairmanships: Ketchum, executive committee; Nicholson, safety and properties/planning/zoning; Marilyn Shippert, R-Dixon, public safety; Dick Binder, R-Compton, transportation/solid waste; Dave Chandler, R-Dixon; finance and the negotiating subcommittee; Judy Truckenbrod, R-West Brooklyn, administrative services.

Board members also drew for the lengths of their terms, both current terms and the next two terms, a drawing that happens once a decade. Members could draw one of two futures for their seats: two 4-year terms followed by a 2-year term or a 2-year term followed by two 4-year terms.

In district 1, Ketchum, Wes Morrissey, D-Amboy, and Ann Taylor, R-Amboy, drew 4-4-2 while Shippert, David Gusse, R-Dixon, and Vern Gottel, R-rural Sterling, drew 2-4-4.

In district 2, Truckenbrod, Nicholson and Kasey Considine, D-Amboy, drew 4-4-2 and Binder, Gerald Leffelman, R-Sublette, and Allyn Buhrow, R-Ashton, drew 2-4-4.

In district 3, Greg Witzleb, Steven Kitzman and Arlan McClain, all Dixon Republicans, drew 4-4-2 and Isaac Mercer, D-Dixon, Thomas Kitson, R-Dixon, and Bernie Buckley, R-Dixon, drew 2-4-4.

In district 4, Dave Chandler, Bob Gibler, and Tim Deem, all Dixon Republicans, drew 4-4-2 and James Wentling, Bill Palen, and Marvin Williams, all Dixon Republicans, drew 2-4-4.



National video

Reader Poll

In the wake of the New York and New Jersey domestic terror bombings, how safe to you feel?
Completely safe
Somewhat safe
Not very safe
Not safe at all