Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, prep sports, Chicago sports, local and regional entertainment, business, home and lifestyle, food, classified and more! News you use every day! Daily, Daily including the e-Edition or e-Edition only.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more. Text alerts are a free service from, but text rates may apply.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

Area 4-H’ers honored for work

OREGON – The following Ogle County 4-H’ers were recognized Nov. 18 for excellence in their project work at the 4-H Achievement Celebration at the Oregon Coliseum.

County Project Gold Honors winners:

■ Baileyville: Mary Jo Griffiths, rabbits and Daniel Ludwig, woodworking.

■ Byron: Sara Blume, horse and pony; Natalie Carlson, health; William Carlson, small engines; Collin Conderman, rabbits; Abraham Eden, entomology; Tyler Hanlin, video; Marisa Kapala, horse and pony; Jordan Mingus, poultry; Gracie Mingus, child development; and Kayla Mingus, theatre arts.

■ Chana: Skylar Black, vet science.

■ Davis Junction: Lillian Kennedy, visual arts; Justin Simpson, woodworking; and Erin Wyckoff, cats.

■ Dixon: Kailey Woolard, food and nutrition.

■ Forreston: Ashleigh Brown, horse and pony; Hunter Daws, sportsfishing; Kendal Kuelling, rabbits; and Hannah Noble, Jacob Noble, Kaitlynn Noble and Rebekah Noble, food and nutrition.

■ Grand Detour: Connor Ross, natural resources.

■ Leaf River: Isaac Charbonneau, poultry; Cailean Davids, woodworking; Linnea Davids, photography; Kyle Hemmersbach, swine; Autumn Kielsmeier, horticulture; Courtney Lima, interior design; Samantha Lima, visual arts; Lane Meyer, beef; Allison Plock and Holly Plock, food and nutrition; and Taylor Yordy, intercultural.

■ Lindenwood: Matthew Drendel, rabbits; Michael Drendel, poultry; Garrett Hackbarth and Jacob Hackbarth, sheep; Anna Tolian and Faith Tolian, Do Your Own Thing; and Lila Tolian, vet science.

■ Monroe Center: Amber Ekard, wildlife; Hannah Ekard, poultry; Autumn Hagemann, interior design; and Abigail Sandine, dogs.

■ Mount Morris: Gregory Bolhous, natural resources; Robbie Bolhous, wildlife; Samantha Bowers, visual arts; Olivia Dillavou, poultry; Ryan Dillavou and Danielle Hagemann, beef; Megan Hagemann, geology; Rebecca Hough and Mady Russell, food and nutrition; and Ginny Steingraber, visual arts.

■ Oregon: Logan Arvigo, horse and pony; Jacob Davis, beef; Julie Davis, horse and pony; Jacob Ebens, sheep; Jill Ebens, clothing and textiles; Chelsea Eden, Michaela Eden and Rebecca Eden, swine; Eli Leffelman and Noah Leffelman, sheep; Isabel Lewis and Natale Lewis, visual arts; Samuel Lewis, communication; Bode Martin and Casey Martin, beef; Karli Miller, dogs; Abigail Mongan, rabbits; Grace Mongan, beef; Johnathan Prose, visual arts; Abbie Ring, Anna Ring, Joseph Ring and Michael Ring, beef; Alek Stranberg, cats; Heather Stranberg, communication; Kelly Stranberg, aerospace; Olivia Stranberg, cats; Shauni Warner, food and nutrition; and Shianne Warner, geology.

■ Polo: Abigail Akins, horse and pony; Isaac Akins, camping; Lena Baumann, clothing and textiles; Brandon Imel, visual arts; Jacob Miller, food and nutrition; Stephanie Sofolo, rabbits; and Nicole Zeigler, photography.

■ Rochelle: Callie Ackland and Carley Ackland, visual arts; Katelyn Ackland, food and nutrition; Megan Ackland, health; Mahalia Freier, clothing; Amanda Headon, horse and pony; Nathan Keys, visual arts; and Evan Meyers, aerospace.

■ Stillman Valley: Tommy Allen, woodworking; Zane Ankney, pygmy goats; Alexa Brooks, geology; Jenna Brooks, food and nutrition; Michelle Johnson, small pets; Shannon Johnson, dairy cattle; Kallista McIntyre and Kiirstin McIntyre, sheep; Daniel Miller, horticulture; Elizabeth Miller, food and nutrition; and Hannah Underhill, entomology.

Silver Project Honor winners were:

■ Byron: Renee Gehrke, beef; and Alexis Trank and Celeste Wolf, dogs.

■ Leaf River: Gretchen Richter, horse and pony.

■ Mount Morris: Garret Moser, beef; and Becca Steingraber, visual arts.

■ Oregon: Trenten Bettner, food and nutrition; Adam Glendenning, beef; Caitlyn Wolber, photography; and Hannah Wolber, horticulture.

■ Polo: Summer Linboom, health, and Ty Newcomer, entomology.

■ Rochelle: Athena Marshel, horticulture, and Jacob Myroth, intergenerational.

■ Stillman Valley: Zachary Ankney, pygmy goats; Sarah Henderson, cats; and Paul Toth, camping.

Cloverbud, 5- to 7-year-old members, received County Project Honors. Gold Cloverbud winners were:

■ Byron: Lauren Carlson, Carson Conderman, Carter Conderman and Maggie Eden.

■ Davis Junction: David Kennedy.

■ Forreston: Carter Daws, Grant Johnson and Natalie Johnson.

■ Leaf River: Brooke Allen, Bryce Allen and Aidan Yordy.

■ Monroe Center: Anna Hagemann and Daniel Sandine.

■ Mount Morris: Katelyn Bowers, R.G. Hough, Emmett Peterson, Olivia Russell and Brianna Smith.

■ Oregon: Levi Eden, AJ Hinrichs, Faith Marquardt, Kyle Miller and Gracie Prose.

■ Polo: Isaiah Akins, Elias Baumann and Rebekah Zeigler.

■ Rochelle: Chloe Freier, Anlun Meyers and Teagan Meyers.

■ Stillman Valley: Blakelynn Swanson, Jeremiah Underhill and Madison Underhill.

Silver Cloverbud winners were:

■ Byron: Bruce Gehrke, Joey Trank and Raina Wolf.

■ Leaf River: Laci Meyer and Kaeden Motszko.

■ Oregon: Danyelle Bettner, Brady Davis and Alexis Ebert.

■ Rochelle: Ava McGee.

Top 30 Award winners were:

■ Byron: Natalie Carlson, Abraham Eden, Kayla Mingus and Gracie Mingus.

■ Forreston: Hunter Daws.

■ Leaf River: Kyle Hemmersbach.

■ Mount Morris: Samantha Bowers, Danielle Hagemann, Megan Hagemann and Rebecca Hough.

■ Oregon: Julie Davis, Jacob Ebens, Jill Ebens, Bode Martin, Abigail Mongan, Grace Mongan, Johnathan Prose, Abbie Ring, Joseph Ring, Michael Ring, Alex Stranberg, Heather Stranberg, Kelly Stranberg and Olivia Stranberg.

■ Rochelle: Megan Ackland.

Loading more